1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

how can I transfer programs to a new computer?

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Robert1, Nov 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Robert1

    Robert1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    176
    Hello:

    About 6 months ago I bought a new computer and successfully transferred my files to the new machine (this as a result of helpful advice from the Tech Support Guy contributors.)

    Since then I've found quite a few files that I can't bring up because the old program that ran those files is not on my new machine, and my original source discs have long since gone by the wayside.

    Would anyone have any ideas on how to transfer these programs to my new computer?

    Someone told me it could be done with Ghost: that is one can set up a new partition on the new machine's hard drive and save an image on it of the old machine's system. Will this really work? If so how does it work? Can the program be copied across the partition boundaries into the new system?

    Any comments, suggestions, would be welcome.

    Thank you,
    Robert
     
  2. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    You can't transfer programs. They need to be reinstalled on the new machine. That is why many people clone the old drive to the new so that everything, OS and programs, is transferred to the new machine.
     
  3. Slaytrix

    Slaytrix

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Post removed by admin, if that is all you have to offer after being registered here for years, and only just now making your first post, I'd say it's time to log back out stay logged out.
     
  4. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
     
  5. Wino

    Wino

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2001
    Messages:
    18,709
    I've used a couple of versions of AlohaBob PC Relocator on three separate occasions and they did a superb job of moving files, settings and intact programs from one machine to another. It wasn't 100% perfect, but best I've seen. There were just a couple of programs I had to reinstall. If you can find a copy I'd suggest giving it a try. It beat the crap of trying to get a hard drive from one machine (or cloned) to work in another.............hands down. The last version I used was 4.0 and was for all Windows thru XP.
     
  6. Robert1

    Robert1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    176
    Wino: thanks for telling me about AlohaBob, I'm going to pursue this one!

    All best,
    Robert
     
  7. Wino

    Wino

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2001
    Messages:
    18,709
    Good luck!! The program can seem a bit intimdating and overwhelming at times since you must do much of the file transfer work. When it comes to programs, it's much simpler. It will give you a heads up on success - green is a go, orange is maybe / maybe not and red is a no go. However, I had two programs that were shown as red/no go and they went, lock, stock and barrel. Both programs were corporate versions of Norton & a customer data base program. My corporate guru could never figure out how I got them to my new laptop without him doing it.......................and I never told him.:p
     
  8. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    MS has acquired APPtimum (owners of AlohaBob) and their site is no more. But you may find an old one somewhere.

    There was another, less popular one out at one time called "COA" or "ChangeOfAddress".

    I have my doubts about newer programs, but worth a try.

    There is still the clone possibility, too.
     
  9. caraewilton

    caraewilton

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,349
    Hi. I have read all this stuff and feel I should have my say. If you bought the stuff legally you should have the programmes. Then just install on the new pc. Part of buying a new pc is that you get a machine that works quicker than the previous one. What you guys are suggesting not only takes time, is for advanced users and is frought with frustrating little problems that will pop up. Coupled to that your new pc will inherrit many of the corruptions of the old pc's programmes which defies the point of paying for a new one.
    I am not sure what programmes you are wishing to copy over.
    I assume for some reason you don't have the original disks.
    Well nothing like an update. If it is a cost thing then I would recommend some of the exceptional open source software available. Open office is a grand programme for a replacement for ms office. It will open any old office documents and comes with all the bells and whistles. It is also legal and free. There are many photo editing software programmes available on the web. Again you can look at the open source options. More speciallised programmes like accouting packages and so on. Well there is free stuff or open source stuff available but here I would recommened the pay and have technical support as well as the knowledge that you are ensuring the continued development of your choice of software. What you pay does contribute in part to somebodys livliehood.
    If you could list some of the programmes you are looking for I could give you better advise in terms of free alternatives.
     
  10. Wino

    Wino

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2001
    Messages:
    18,709
    That is really sad news.:(

    Try the following

    http://www.laplink.com/pcmover/pcmover.html
     
  11. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Well, it wasn't sad news back when it looked like AlohaBob was going to be included in Vista RC1, but it never materialized. I guess it has gone to app heaven, now.
     
  12. batosai

    batosai

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    if you wanna transfer data not program, you can use ghost.ghost work in MS DOS, n for FAT32. as i know, program cant be copy 2 other pc. it must be install first. because one pc to other one are differ spec.
     
  13. Hughv

    Hughv

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    8,450
  14. caraewilton

    caraewilton

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,349
    Hi Hughv. Thanks for the vote of confidence. I am a her though!
     
  15. Hughv

    Hughv

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    8,450
    My apologies.
    I'm guessing your name is Carae?
    I've never heard it before.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/651045