how do access a linux machine from a windows machine

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jdbic

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 17, 2012
Messages
91
We have a few windows machines in the home group. I just started using lubuntu and want to have in the network so we can share the files. The windows machines show up , but not the lubuntu. How do I find it?
 

jdbic

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 17, 2012
Messages
91
No, I don't have Samba installed. I take it I should get Samba for a start?
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2014
Messages
364
You could get Samba through apt-get install samba (you need to run as root).

But you could also try running secure-shell and an FTP server on the Linux machine for remote access and file transfer between it and other Windows machines.
 

jdbic

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 17, 2012
Messages
91
Well I'm trying the link that plodr gave, but I get almost through the windows part and keep getting a denial message after entering the password. i'll be back with the correct message.
Is WinSCP for the windows machine or the Linux one?
 

jdbic

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 17, 2012
Messages
91
This is what I was referring to in post #7
[email protected]:~$ sudo mount.cifs //bicvideo/Share /home/bic/Desktop/Windows-Share -o user=bic
Password for [email protected]//bicvideo/Share:
mount error(13): Permission denied
Refer to the mount.cifs(8) manual page (e.g. man mount.cifs).

I'm going to read the link that Squashman posted next .
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2015
Messages
49
Well I'm trying the link that plodr gave, but I get almost through the windows part and keep getting a denial message after entering the password. i'll be back with the correct message.
Is WinSCP for the windows machine or the Linux one?
YEs WinSCP runs on the windows box. You connect to the Linux box using the root account and you can browse in a familiar explorer interface.
 

Squashman

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 4, 2003
Messages
19,786
You connect to the Linux box using the root account and you can browse in a familiar explorer interface.
Not a good idea from a security standpoint. On all the linux servers I have ever managed the ROOT user was only allowed console access. All other elevated access was done with SUDO. This is definitely one task where you shouldn't need ROOT access to do it.
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2015
Messages
49
Not a good idea from a security standpoint. On all the linux servers I have ever managed the ROOT user was only allowed console access. All other elevated access was done with SUDO. This is definitely one task where you shouldn't need ROOT access to do it.
You're probably right. I don't have much Linux experience but I do use the root account to connect to our one linux box via WinSCP.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top