1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

how do i capture a pic from a video clip

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by dianabol, Mar 31, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dianabol

    dianabol Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Hi everyone,I have taken a video clip on my digital camera of a family day out and i would really like to be able to turn some of it into still pictures so i can have them printed as photos is there any software i can purchase to be able to do this ? i can pause the clip and move from frame to frame but i cant seem to capture the image.In case it helps i have a kodak z 740 ..Oh and big thanks for the picasso software much better than kodaks own(my opinion).
     
  2. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    if you have movie maker 2 I beleive there is a function on that, that will capture frames
     
  3. dianabol

    dianabol Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    The only things i have is media player and power dvd just got this laptop and havent downloaded or installed anything yet
     
  4. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
  5. dianabol

    dianabol Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    ooh yes its there. Nothing jumps out at me as obvious,its not movie maker 2 but ill have a play with it and see how i get on but if there is a really good one to buy/download id like to give it a go as i think i could get some great photos from video clips..
     
  6. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
  7. lister

    lister

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,993
    CTRL+I in Windows Media Player captures stills.
     
  8. thecoalman

    thecoalman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,491
    PowerDVD has a screen capture utility as well. There's a button on the player. Open up the configuration panel to adjust where it saves the images. I'd suggest using powerDVD, made for TV video is interlaced and will have comb lines in frames where there is a lot of motion. PowerDVD is the best at deinterlacng IMO

    Don't expect too much the resolution of video for TV even at it's best is only equivalent to 720x480 (NTSC US). In still camera terms that is .35 megapixel image, the decimal is not misplaced. Low end cams and even prosumer cams can't take advantage of the full resolution. Add to that the interlacing and you're not going to get very good printable images.

    Edit: I see that's a still cam, you can forget about what I said about the comb lines but the images themselves are still going to be small. Max resolution on most still cams for video is 640x480.
     
  9. dianabol

    dianabol Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    thanks guys i think ive got it sorted but your right they wont make good pics,
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/454570

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice