1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How do i change Administrator name after formatting

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Me22, Jan 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Me22

    Me22 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    435
    I have had my hard drive reformatted and created 2 user accounts
    But instead of mine showing up as my name, it is called "User"
    How can I rename it please?
     
  2. flynstone

    flynstone

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    162
    Go - Start/Control Panel/User Accounts - and click on the name you want to change.
     
  3. Me22

    Me22 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    435
    Did that to start with My name is there in user accounts.
    But the folders name for me in Docs and settings is showing as USER not my name
     
  4. lotuseclat79

    lotuseclat79

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    20,583
    Hi MaryB,

    Here's how:
    Start>Control Panel>Administrative Tools>Local Security Policy:
    Under Local Policies, select Security Options:
    Select (right-click) Properties for: Accounts: Rename administrator account
    and change the name
    Don't forget to click on Apply then Ok

    You can also rename the guest account in the same manner.

    You can check against all of the accounts on your system by downloading (freeware) Belarc Advisor and running it. It inventories all of your software and MS updates.

    If you plan on running normally with Administrator rights, its a good idea to install DropMyRights MSI SetSafer MSI from Microsoft:
    * Running a Web Browser from an Admin account with reduced permissions
    DropMyRights.msi: http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/library/en-us/dncode/html/secure11152004.asp
    SetSafer.msi: http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/library/en-us/security/security/safer.asp

    Then with the Local Security Policy, you can Add IE and Firefox in addition to your mail client and make them have Basic User permissions (i.e. for Internet facing applications - this is a good idea to not have Admin rights out in the open where an attacker can more easily gain Admin rights).

    Under Software Restriction Policies create Additional Rules (if it does not exist) and add new certificate rule under Actions for IE and Firefox executable paths.

    Then when Microsoft Update Tuesday arrives you can open up IE to have unrestricted access (you may need another shortcut without the extra "N" parameter) to get the Windows Updates as an Administrator.

    -- Tom
     
  5. Me22

    Me22 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    435
    Sorry can't find local security policy.
     
  6. Me22

    Me22 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    435
    Sorry could not do what you suggested. Is there any other way please?
    Dont want to be called USER forever lol.:mad:
     
  7. Dan O

    Dan O

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 1999
    Messages:
    8,974
    Have you tried right clicking the User folder and selecting Rename?
     
  8. lotuseclat79

    lotuseclat79

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    20,583
    Hi MaryB,

    Here's what I said in my previous msg:
    Start>Control Panel>Administrative Tools>Local Security Policy

    What this means is:
    1) Click on Start button in lower left-hand corner of screen
    2) Select Control Panel from the Start Menu
    3) Select Administrative Tools, and
    4) Select Local Security Policy

    You must be in an Administrative account to do so.

    -- Tom
     
  9. lotuseclat79

    lotuseclat79

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    20,583
    Hi MaryB,

    Try, try again!

    AFAIK there is no other way to change the name of the Administrator account, however, you may be able to create a new account with any name and give it Administative rights.

    -- Tom
     
  10. Me22

    Me22 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    435
    Nothing seems to work. Had to do a system Restore as created an account in my name But on the welcome screen I still showed up as User
    So back to square one again lol
     
  11. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    Why not just make it easy on yourself and just create a new user and delete the old one.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/433761

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice