How do I change Windows 10 from AHCI to AMD RAID?

DeLorean

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 22, 2005
Messages
74
Emphasis on the AMD.

I have found dozens of articles that state that you either need to boot into safe boot and let Windows install the driver or you enable the driver by altering a few registry entries from a '3' to a '0' (iaStor, iaStorSVC, ahciStor, etc), some articles state that you need to do a combination of both these things, but I came to the conclusion that these articles are only relevant if you have an Intel chipset (though not one of the articles mentions as such).

So, how do you switch from AHCI to RAID if you have an AMD chipset, namely the X370?

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services

Is there an entry in the above key that enables AMD RAID, seeing as there are entries that do the same for Intel RAID? I find it a bit weird that you would be able to enable or disable a myriad of different boot configurations here but not one that enables AMD RAID.


The only "solution" I have found so far is the following question on SuperUser.com where the guy asking the same question I am manages to solve it himself via some clever file hacking but his answer is almost a decade old, is likely for a different version of Windows, and both the name of his .inf file and the contents of that file are nothing like the .inf files that came with my driver...
https://superuser.com/questions/300...an-amd-raid-driver-after-windows-installation

Any ideas, people?


PS. I'm not interested in Windows built-in mirroring or the new Storage Spaces thing. I'm using mirroring now and every time Windows fails to shut down properly my C:\ drive has to spend 5 hours re-synchronising, I've also heard you can't boot from a Storage Spaces pool which rules that out completely.
 
Last edited:

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
41,748
I did this a number of years ago simply as an experiment. The intels are very easy however with the AMDs, it was a pretty involved process. I might still have the article I wrote to accomplish this task however I am going to have to look through a LOT of stuff to find it. At the moment, I have to run to the store. I will take a look when I get home.

Just for info. If you are using onboard ie on the motherboard raid, that is pretty much useless. If you really want raid, then get a real raid card.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
41,748
Found the article however it is for win7. The process is the same however you will probably have to edit the registry manually rather than use the reg file.
Before doing anything, make sure you have a current image of the system drive. Again onboard raid is pretty much useless. With a real raid card, it is very easy to accomplish this task.
 

Attachments

DeLorean

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 22, 2005
Messages
74
Thanks for the document, crjdriver, of the three sites I have asked this question on you are the only person who has understood my query and given me a solid lead so far. Your article is a bit like the one in the link I included but yours at least has the registry entry for me to study, now I just need to crash course in registry language so I can try and convert it to Windows 10.

I tried following the instructions directly on the off-chance that the Win7 x64 driver might work but it didn't, the only driver I could find with the same DisplayName as the one in your article ("AMD AHCI Compatible RAID Controller"), and with an ahcix64s.sys file was from 2011. Windows 10 wouldn't boot with it.

So tomorrow I'm going to try and convert it for the latest Win 10 x64 driver.

I already have another idea to try but it requires accessing the registry of a WinPE environment and I'm not sure if that is possible. I have a Windows 10 PE boot stick that boots when the BIOS is set to RAID and it shows the controller as an unknown device - what I plan to do is copy the Win 10 driver to the stick and try to install the driver in the PE environment so I can then export the key it creates in CurrentControlSet\Services, thus saving me from trying to make one.

It's a plan based on a dozen assumptions regarding PE, the registry and drivers so it has to be attempted.

I'll have another update for you after I've tried it. If tomorrows update has "Sent from a Sony Xperia phone" as the signature then something has gone badly wrong.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
41,748
Just wondering, why not just clean install?
If you are doing this for a learning experience, that is fine.
You do understand that onboard raid ie AMD or intel is really just software raid [same as spanning drives in windows]
A real hardware raid controller such as a LSI card costs quite a bit of money; at least $200~300 or so.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top