1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

how do I compress

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by Nelly22, Jan 29, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Nelly22

Nelly22 Thread Starter

Hi,
    This is my first time here, so I'm hoping I'm doing this right..... I need to make more disk space...I go to Drive Space thru Start etc....want to compress C:......message says.."Drive cannot be compressed because it is a FAT32 drive"
    If I go thru Compression Agent, it says I need to run Drive Space 3, I click 'yes' to run it, but nothing happens, it freezes for a few seconds, then goes back to the window asking me which drive I want to compress, but it won't because of that FAT 32 message......
    I need to compress drive C because it shows it is almost full...there is a little sliver of the pie left....and I find this hard to believe that it is that full.....had the whole computer cleaned out at the computer shop one year ago..........just a month ago only about 1/4 of the pie was being used .This is a Pentium Pro; 64 RAM; Magitronic Intel Pentium MMX; Windows 95.
    Hope this makes sense,

Thankyou

2. Byteman

Byteman Gone but Never Forgotten

[tsg=welcome][/tsg]

Hi, You are running FAT 32 File system, so you cannot compress the hard disk. You had a lot more space a month ago- I have seen one computer running 95 that absolutely REVERSED the free and used disk space...could be what yours is doing...there may be a Microsoft fix for that.
    Do you scan with an updated antivirus program regularly?
    You should....if not, you can try an online scan here:

www.housecall.antivirus.com

www.pandasoftware.com