1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How do I create an Alpha Channel?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by starchild, Jun 2, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. starchild

starchild Thread Starter

I've been looking in searches, but it seems kind of complicated and one went into a lot of detail, but seemed to relate to a game called QUAKE

I downloaded a free plugin for PSP and Photoshop (and put it in each) and tried it in PSP tonight. It says it requires an alpha channel.

The plugin is for adding snow to a picture, and even has a setting for watcing it fall (I'm not sure if this is animated or not. I'm new to plugins and effects/filters)

One of the websites I found about making an alpha channel showed the tab for channels on photoshop. So, I know where it is there (not sure about PSP)

I have PSP7 and Photoshop6.

I have an idea it's changing the texture in places on the picture, and maybe making some parts a bit transparent, or not as dense?

It's late, and I thought if someone could explain it simply (how to do it) or knows of a basic tutorial I could follow, that would be more direct.

Thanks,

~ Carrie

2. uly7

uly7

My guess here is, that is asking you for a alpha channel of your picture or part of your picture ( that part at which you like to use your filter). For example, I 've seen this dialogs boxes in actions, but never in a filter, unless this is an actions an not a plug-in. What is the name of you plug-in?
    Need more info.
    Uly7

3. starchild

starchild Thread Starter

the plugin is VDL (VanDerLee) snowscape. Another one was also given (free) snowflake, which does work. It's sort of like spatters (you can adjust) on the picture.