How do I delete without having to confirm each time?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

joeAgain------

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 13, 2002
Messages
1,183
In Win98SE, whenever I right click on an item and chose delete, I always get a confirmation popup asking me if I really want to do that.

How do I set my computer to just send the deleted item to the recycle bin, without bothering me with the confirmation step everytime?

(I know I can't post this in more than one place, but I'd also like to know how to do that in NT and W2K)

thank you
 

JustMe2

Crystal
Joined
May 31, 2001
Messages
1,047
Win98se...right click on the recycle bin, go to properties. On first tab it should say global. Remove the checkmark from the box toward the bottom that says display delete confirmation dialog box. (drives me nuts to!)
As for NT and W2K, I have no clue...maybe someone else will!
JustMe2
 

joeAgain------

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 13, 2002
Messages
1,183
THANKS, JustMe2.

that sounds great, but it isn't working for me on NT, although it looks as you say, and looks to me like it should work.

I'm at work now on NT. I see the checkbox in Global and have unchecked it. But it is still asking me to confirm my deletes.

Do I need to reboot, or something for it to take affect?
 

JustMe2

Crystal
Joined
May 31, 2001
Messages
1,047
Well, joeAgain. I have no clue there. I've got 3 machines here and 1 at work, that all I've done is remove that checkmark, and I've never seen that dialog box since. They are all win98se...don't know if that makes any difference.
JustMe2
 

joeAgain------

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 13, 2002
Messages
1,183
OK, I guess I had some kind of little glitch, or something.

I checked it, clicked apply....then went back in and Unchecked it and clicked apply...and now it works.

Cool!

Thanks alot! I've always hated that double step process for deleting stuff. If I goof-up, I can just go into the recycle bin and restore it.

Great!

Thanks again
 

JustMe2

Crystal
Joined
May 31, 2001
Messages
1,047
You're very welcome.
Now I know that it also works in NT..thank you!
And I'm with you...if I hit delete, I just want it to delete! Not ask me if I'm sure!
JustMe2
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Top