how do i detect what modem i have ?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

graham4u

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 22, 2001
Messages
11
after reformating what was a tiny preinstalled setup to install win me i realised that i dont know what modem i have in my pc
i have even tried taking of the cover but no identity on the modem card there is no driver cd with comp and it is just a back up reload cd with nothing on their to tell me what the modem is

please help im going mad here

ps this was posted using another pc i have at home but i need the other machine working asap
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2001
Messages
2,872
Hi graham4u,
Right click My Computer, select Properties, Click on Device Manager tab. Scroll down to Modems, click on the plus. It should tell you what kind you have.
 

graham4u

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 22, 2001
Messages
11
it dosent as i havent been able to install the modem yet
as explained above i have reinstalled windows with a new windows melenium but forgot to note down what modem i
have so i cant even install it from the drivers that come with me
i have tried to get windows to detect the modem with no luck
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2001
Messages
2,872
Hi graham4u,
Sorry missunderstood you. Have you tried: Start, Settings, Control Panel. Select Add New Hardware. Follow the prompts and see if it picks it up. Reboot first then do it. It never hurts to reboot!
 

graham4u

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 22, 2001
Messages
11
thanks for trying but that dosent work either are ther any other ways of finding out what card it is
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2001
Messages
1,546
Shot in the dark,
A friend (system analyst)told me if my system would not recognize my modem to remove it, reboot, shut down and then reinstall modem and boot.
 
Joined
Jul 7, 1999
Messages
389
See if you have a 'pci communication device' listed in device manager, probably under 'other devices'. Take that out and see if it will detect. It will probably not identify the modem even if it finds it, but you can try. If there are no numbers anywhere on the modem you can narrow it down by looking at the big chip on the modem, it will probably be Conexant, Motorola, PcTel, Texas Instruments (TI) or Rockwell, you might be able to find some generic drivers for the chipset. If it was me, I would not spend too much time on it, you can buy a new winmodem for under $15. If it has jumpers on it for setting the com port, it is a hardware modem and you should be able to install it as a 'standard modem' then use the diagnostics tab in modem properties to get the ID string for it.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top