How do I disable the disconnect after idle for 45 minutes on MSN 8?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

viperx07

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 17, 2003
Messages
6
I kno you can do it cause I did it before and never got disconnected, now i reformatted my computer and get disconnected after 45 minutes when playing games or downloading. I am using 56k.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Let me boot up with my other hard drive and see what version I have.....I don't think I upgraded to 8, but just cancelled the service, so I don't think I would be able to see that option anymore, and I doubt if I have a version 8 install cd laying around here.......
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
I don't know what version I have and there appears no easy way to check it unless you are connected, I guess....*sigh*

In IE, under tools, internet options, connections, settings, advanced, do you have anything that looks like it's set to disconnect?
 

viperx07

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 17, 2003
Messages
6
ttere is no advanced part. There is only advanced for proxy.

Even if you dont solve the problem, thanks for the help ^^
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2003
Messages
239
An alternative would be is that if your using an email program, such as Outlook, or any other, you can set it to check for new email...say every 20 minutes. It may be your ISP timing you out. Using this method will send an activity across the net and keep your connection active as though you were actually surfing or whatever.
 

viperx07

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 17, 2003
Messages
6
well, it disconnects if you dont use msn evry 45 minutes, not use the net. I dont even sign in, just connect. But then it disconnects me. IF i sign in, i get lag in a game.
 

viperx07

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 17, 2003
Messages
6
yo bozz, i talked to MSN tech support and they also said to use Outlook Express. Ill respond when i test if it works or not.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top