1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

how do i distinguish so many Cisco items?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by MichelleCisco, Nov 11, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. MichelleCisco

MichelleCisco Thread Starter

Our company is mainly doing Cisco networking devices business, and I am completely new in this field. There are so many different models, such as switches,firewalls,routers,modules,etc. They all got a long name, how do I distinguish them? There must be some rules,right?

2. zx10guy

zx10guy Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

Off the top of my head.

The Catalyst series is a long running line from an old switching company Cisco acquired many years ago which ran Cat-OS. You really don't see Cat-OS any more as all the newer switches run IOS (the real IOS and not iOS.) The core line up is the layer 2 switch 2960s up to the big chassis 6500s.

The Nexus line is the next generation of Catalyst which provides newer features and is the current switching platform Cisco is leading with as their flag ship and focused on data center environments. The Nexus line starts at the software vSwitch of the 1000 all the way up to the big chassis 7000. The Nexus line departs from the IOS operating system by using NX-OS which was derived from the OS used in the MDS (Fiber Channel.) This was partly done because of the focus of Nexus being a converged fabric switching platform.

The MDS line as I mentioned is Cisco's fiber channel switching line. The switches start at the 1U 9124 and goes all the way up to the director class 9500 series.