1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How do I do this

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by playme123, Jul 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. playme123

    playme123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    297
    I have just installed a slave hard drive, have downloaded acronis true image free trail.
    Basically what I want to do is to copy the os of the main drive and put this copy onto the slave drive as back up in case the main hard drive fails
    how do I do it:eek:
     
  2. Ciberblade

    Ciberblade Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    16,279
    I'm not sure copying to the slave drive is your best option as it removes the amount of available space on your extra HD. I would make an image of your system that could be stored on CD/DVD or on a shared system. Then, if there was a failure, you could apply the image.
    :cool:
     
  3. playme123

    playme123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    297
    ok will try that
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I always use images, not clone copies. Images restore to the same exact disk contents and they're much smaller than making a clone partition.
     
  5. playme123

    playme123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    297
    how do you do that though, have never backed up in me life and need to start doing it:eek:
     
  6. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,966
    First Name:
    Jay
    The first thing to do is Click on "Create Bootable Rescue Media"
    And make a Bootable Acronis CD.
    Check Back when you've done this.
     
  7. playme123

    playme123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    297
    sorry how do i do that
     
  8. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,966
    First Name:
    Jay
    See Below ...
     

    Attached Files:

  9. playme123

    playme123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    297
    done that
     
  10. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,966
    First Name:
    Jay
    Next .. Create a Folder in you Slave Named “Acronis”

    The object now is to make an Acronis “Backup” of your C: drive ..
    and place the backup in you Slave/Acronis folder.

    When asked …
    Place the Acronis backup image as a file named 07.07.07.tib in the (slave) Acronis folder

    It should look like this … (slave) Acronis/07.07.07.tib

    Click on Backup to get started ....
     

    Attached Files:

  11. playme123

    playme123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    297
    when I back up what do I pack up the computer, or files and folders
     
  12. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,966
    First Name:
    Jay
    To backup your operating system and all ... back up the C: drive.

    Then, you'll be able to restore your entire computer from the backup Image .. the tib file.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. playme123

    playme123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    297
    doing it know will take over an hour will let you know how I get on
     
  14. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,966
    First Name:
    Jay
    That sounds kinda long ...
    How many gig (occupied) is your C: Drive.
    Hope you have space on the slave.

    My C: drives are the OS and installed programs only ... My Data is in another partition.
    Only takes me about 5 minutes to backup, or recover, my OS C: drive ... somewhere around 15 gig occupied.
     
  15. playme123

    playme123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    297
    no theres 15 minutes remaing sorry my fault
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/592410

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice