1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How do I enable DMA transfer

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jasonrosegiese, Dec 16, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jasonrosegiese

    jasonrosegiese Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2001
    Messages:
    195
    How do I enable DMA transfer on my hard drive??
     
  2. Paul Nagel

    Paul Nagel

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 1999
    Messages:
    1,843
    Start>Settings>Control Panel>System and click on Device Manager Tab. Scroll down to Disk Drives, expand the line by clicking on the + and then highlight the drive by single clicking on it. Select the Properties button, and the Settings Tab. Put a check in the box for DMA. Reboot.
     
  3. jasonrosegiese

    jasonrosegiese Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2001
    Messages:
    195
    Well, I tried that, but when it reboots, the box is unchecked.
    In device manager it calls it a generick disc drive. Does that mean the drivers aren't installed?I went to the Segate website, but I couldn't find any drivers. The hard drive is a Segate ST38410A. Any ideas??
     
  4. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    According to seagate generic disk drive is normal.
    That drive is ata66, are you running it at ata66 or ata33???
    Depends on your motherboard or do you have it connected to a controller card. Also to use it as ata66 you would need to have the ata66 cable, rather than the standard ide cable

    Seagate has a utility to set the udma mode of their driver here
    http://www.seagate.com/support/kb/disc/ultra_ata_66.html#11

    If you use it be carefull, could make your data useless if used wrong.
     
  5. herne70

    herne70

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2001
    Messages:
    5
    I have an Abit KT7A-RAID and the same problem needed a driver update if I recall correctly.
     
  6. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    Do I need a special Ultra ATA/66 device driver?

    Not necessarily. Because the operating system (Windows 95/98) handles Ultra ATA and Ultra ATA/66 the same as DMA, there should be no special device drivers. However, as with Ultra ATA, not all system boards and BIOSs will correctly interface with the operating system. In these cases, a special device driver or patch will have to be provided by the system board manufacturer to make the system capable of attaining Ultra ATA/66.
     
  7. jasonrosegiese

    jasonrosegiese Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2001
    Messages:
    195
    So ,sorry to sound dumb, but does this mean I should look for an updated driver for the main board?? It's a soltek SL-67B. The drives are connected directly to the board
     
  8. jasonrosegiese

    jasonrosegiese Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2001
    Messages:
    195
    Also, it's got a regular IDE cable. Black connectors on both sides. According to segate, they need an ata66 activation utility, but witth the regular cable, this will not workk will it?
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/62011

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice