1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How do I find out Connection Speed?

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Darg_mals, Feb 7, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Darg_mals

    Darg_mals Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    I'm Installing Realone player and it wants to know what my connection speed is. I am on high speed internet Shaw cable. Went to a site for text Block size 500 KB Download Time 6970ms Transmission Speed 574.kb/s

    I have HCF 56K Data Fax PCI Modem

    The options for RealonePlayer are

    Dial-up Modem
    28.8 kbps
    56.6 kbps
    Dual ISDS (128 kbps)

    Broadband

    DSL Cable
    384 kbps
    512 " "
    768 " "
    T1 1.5 Mbps
    office BAN (10Mbps and above)


    I'm thinking one of the DSL Cable but which one?
     
  2. jbcalg

    jbcalg

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    2,056
    you've got about a 4Mbps connection from that test (isn't shaw wonderful?)

    i'd start with the 10Mb setting and see how it works, you can always drop to the T1 setting
    - those type of settings aren't always what you WILL get in the connection, but what you CAN get
    - obviously it will depend on your connection, the sender's connection, and Internet traffic generally
     
  3. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    Choose DSL/Cable
     
  4. pyritechips

    pyritechips Gone but Never Forgotten

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Messages:
    26,907
    First Name:
    Jim
    I have Shaw cable also in Calgary and I am hitting 2,000 to 2,5000 mbps on a regular basis. If you aren't hitting this speed I suggest a registry tweak.

    And may I ask why realplayer wants to know your connection speed? It's connection agent will run with windows startup, suck resources and transmit information off your computer back to their website.

    You can also go to Bandwidthplace to get a download speed test.
     
  5. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    There are lots of tweaks for cable and dsl at speedguide.net
     
  6. jbcalg

    jbcalg

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    2,056
    ...LOL
    basically so it 'knows' how big/fast a stream to send to your connection

    ...but i agree with the rest of your comments about realplayer ;) - lots of better players out there, without the AOL like pillaging of your system

    ...and i strongly recommend http://www.broadbandreports.com - especially the tweaks forum - as the best source for tweaking info and tools

    btw: i use speakeasy's seattle test site - close enough to be meaningful, far enough to be accurate - for speed tests
     
  7. pyritechips

    pyritechips Gone but Never Forgotten

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Messages:
    26,907
    First Name:
    Jim
    Yeah I know jbcalg- I was being sarcastic! Music players have no business connecting to net at all as far as I'm concerned. I connect only to download.

    BTW I just tried the seattle site you posted and I got 3,627 kbps! That has to be wrong!:eek:
     
  8. pyritechips

    pyritechips Gone but Never Forgotten

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Messages:
    26,907
    First Name:
    Jim
    I just noticed something: You said you're on Shaw cable but you have a 56K modem? Shaw uses a cable modem obviously. There may be a 56K modem in your computer but it has nothing to do with cable.
     
  9. Darg_mals

    Darg_mals Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Right you are 56k modem within computer has nothing to do with modem from shaw. :eek:


    I discoverd it really didn't mater what I put in there as far as speed goes for realone player.;)

    Bandwidth was 461.9 kbps 461897.48 bits per second

    Speakeasy 1810 kbps download time 207kbps upload

    Shaw test was 384


    How does that rate to yours at 2000 to 2,5000 mbps?

    Thanks for the info

    Char
     
  10. pyritechips

    pyritechips Gone but Never Forgotten

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Messages:
    26,907
    First Name:
    Jim
    Hi again darg_mals!

    Well, compare 2,000 to 461. I know Shaw covers a big part of Western Canada so your speed will depend on the service level wherever you happen to be. I am in Calgary only a couple miles from the main Shaw headquarters so maybe I'm just lucky there.

    Also, what OS do you have? Have you tweaked it? When I tweaked my speed tripled. Try going HERE and reading up on how to tweak.

    Have fun and please feel free to ask more questions.:)
     
  11. Darg_mals

    Darg_mals Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Hello Pyritechips

    Tried tweaking not to great with working with win zip updates end up in note pad and then I can't seem to do anything with it. OS hum like to tell you but I'm not sure what that is.
     
  12. pyritechips

    pyritechips Gone but Never Forgotten

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Messages:
    26,907
    First Name:
    Jim
    Sorry Darg_mals. OS just means operating system- what version of windows is it?
     
  13. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    You need something like winzip to open the patches as they are zipped. You can search for winzip and should find one that you can download to open the patches.
     
  14. Darg_mals

    Darg_mals Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    I'm running windows ME I think it was 98 updated to ME. I do have win zip but when I unzip it goes into note pad and I'm not able to do anything with the update, this is what it looks like. Also I'm a little leary of messing with this because I don't have the disk of win ME. Is there anyway I can just burn it to disk?

    ________________________________
    ; / \
    ; | Copyright SpeedGuide.net 1999-2000. |
    ; | http://www.speedguide.net |
    ; | [email protected] |
    ; \___________________________________/
    ;
    ;
    ; Use at your own risk.
    ;
    ; This file is intended for use with Windows 98/98SE and Windows ME ! Check our site
    ; at http://www.speedguide.net for tweaking other operating systems, information
    ; on advanced Regisry editting and all your broadband needs.
    ;
    ;
    ; To install this patch, simply highlight this .inf file, right-click and choose
    ; "install" from the pull-down menu.
    ;
    ; It is always a good idea to backup your Registry before making changes.
    ; ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ;
    ; This generic patch adds the optimum TCP/IP Registry values for high speed/high latency
    ; Internet connections, such as Cable Modems, DSL and similar broadband technologies,
    ; The file also fixes a bug in ICS (Internet Connection Sharing in Windows 98SE)
    ; that sets a small MTU value.
    ;
    ; Keep in mind that the patch adds extra settings to ensure compatability with different
    ; systems and setups. It's always best to manually add the necessary entries for your
    ; connection.
    ;
    ; You need to reboot for changes to take effect.
    ;
    ; -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------









    [Version]
    signature=$CHICAGO$

    [DefaultInstall]
    DelReg=Delete_Old_Tweaks
    AddReg=Add_SpeedGuide_Tweaks

    [Delete_Old_Tweaks]
    HKLM,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\VxD\MSTCP,DefaultRcvWindow
    HKLM,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\VxD\MSTCP,DefaultTTL
    HKLM,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\VxD\MSTCP,PMTUDiscovery
    HKLM,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\VxD\MSTCP,PMTUBlackHoleDetect
    HKLM,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\VxD\MSTCP\Parameters,Tcp1323Opts
    HKLM,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\VxD\MSTCP,Tcp1323Opts
    HKLM,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\VxD\MSTCP\Parameters,SackOpts
    HKLM,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\VxD\MSTCP,SackOpts
    HKLM,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\VxD\MSTCP\Parameters,MaxDupAcks
    HKLM,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\Class\NetTrans\0000,MaxMTU
    HKLM,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\Class\NetTrans\0001,MaxMTU
    HKLM,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\Class\NetTrans\0002,MaxMTU
    HKLM,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\Class\NetTrans\0003,MaxMTU
    HKLM,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\Class\NetTrans\0004,MaxMTU
    HKLM,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\Class\NetTrans\0005,MaxMTU
    HKLM,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\Class\NetTrans\0006,MaxMTU
    HKLM,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\Class\NetTrans\0007,MaxMTU
    HKLM,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\Class\NetTrans\0008,MaxMTU
    HKLM,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\Class\NetTrans\0009,MaxMTU
    HKLM,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\ICSharing\Settings\General,InternetMTU

    [Add_SpeedGuide_Tweaks]
    HKLM,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\VxD\MSTCP,DefaultRcvWindow,0,"256960"
    HKLM,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\VxD\MSTCP,DefaultTTL,0,"64"
    HKLM,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\VxD\MSTCP,PMTUDiscovery,0,"1"
    HKLM,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\VxD\MSTCP,PMTUBlackHoleDetect,0,"0"
    HKLM,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\VxD\MSTCP,Tcp1323Opts,0,"1"
    HKLM,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\VxD\MSTCP,SackOpts,0,"1"
    HKLM,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\VxD\MSTCP\Parameters,MaxDupAcks,0x10001,"3"
    HKLM,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\Class\NetTrans\0000,MaxMTU,0,"1500"
    HKLM,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\Class\NetTrans\0001,MaxMTU,0,"1500"
    HKLM,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\Class\NetTrans\0002,MaxMTU,0,"1500"
    HKLM,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\Class\NetTrans\0003,MaxMTU,0,"1500"
    HKLM,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\Class\NetTrans\0004,MaxMTU,0,"1500"
    HKLM,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\Class\NetTrans\0005,MaxMTU,0,"1500"
    HKLM,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\Class\NetTrans\0006,MaxMTU,0,"1500"
    HKLM,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\Class\NetTrans\0007,MaxMTU,0,"1500"
    HKLM,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\Class\NetTrans\0008,MaxMTU,0,"1500"
    HKLM,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\Class\NetTrans\0009,MaxMTU,0,"1500"
     
  15. pyritechips

    pyritechips Gone but Never Forgotten

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Messages:
    26,907
    First Name:
    Jim
    Hi again:

    This is the important line. Don't double click the file. Just single click it, then:

     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/117588

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice