1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How do I find the ip address of devices on my network

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by sundance2008, Jan 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sundance2008

    sundance2008 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    240
    I am looking for a program (free) that will display a tree of my home network showing all the devices and if a device has an ip address display that as well. Does anyone know of such a program and could you point me to it so I can get it? If not free I might be willing to spend $10 or $15 but no more.

    Thanks,

    Steve

    P.S. I would like something that does this in human talk not tech. talk. You know show a ip address and then the device name Printer, simple like that. I tried ipscan and it didn't give me a single bit of info. that I could translate to what my printer ip address was.
     
  2. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Chuck Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    49,399
    Angy IP Scanner is a free program that will list all devices by IP address that are in a range of IP addresses that you specify. Any kind of network hub or switch will not show up.
     
  3. Frank4d

    Frank4d Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    Note regarding Angry IP Scanner, if your anti-spyware program warns it is a hacktool, ignore the warning (it is not).
     
  4. Gnomad

    Gnomad

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    752
    I have used The Dude by Mikrotik and have had good luck with it.
     
  5. sundance2008

    sundance2008 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    240
    Thanks for the response, it must have been before my PS. I tried ipscan and it didn't get me anything I could understand or translate to a device on my network. I see stuff like:
    Hostname: secure.hurikan.sk
    Hostname: a3.ba-posam.sh.cust.gts.sk
    topsport.cust.nextra.sk

    Information that means nothing to me and in no way tell me what the devices are on the network.
     
  6. sundance2008

    sundance2008 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    240
    The Dude worked and the reason ipScan didn't work was I put in the wrong ip address.

    All is well, thanks a lot.

    Steve
     
  7. Frank4d

    Frank4d Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    Re-run it, but before scanning the IP address range click Options, Select Columns. Select "Comp. Name" then click the >> button, then OK
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/788664