How do I get my IP camera working over the internet

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

raj_kalangutkar

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 5, 2009
Messages
124
Hi guys I need urgent help with this.
One of my clients has a windows server 2003 R2 setup with an IP address 192.168.0.1,which is running the ISA 2004 server as a proxy server. I have a DLink router DSL 502T through which i connect to the internet which uses the PPPoE mode to connect. I have an IP camera setup with an ip address 192.168.0.3 which works fine on the local network. But I need to get it working over the internet. I want to view the live video streaming from a remote location over the internet. How can I do this? I have been trying for 3 days now and I haven't managed to get it working.
I know that I have to forward the ports on the router if I am using the PPPoE mode. Also, I have to do something on the ISA server too. But I really cannot figure out what exactly is to be done on the router as well as the ISA server.
Well I tried port forwarding on the router and made a firewall policy on the ISA server and then tried to connect to my network using a dynamic dns software. But then this always points to my router configuration page and not the camera. Please I need urgent help with this..
Thanks a lot
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,446
But then this always points to my router configuration page and not the camera.
Port 80 (or maybe 8080)? Some routers refuse to actually forward their default configuration page port even though you can specify it on the port forwarding page. In fact, I think it was a D-Link router that "taught" me this.

If I might be right about this use a different port. That is, forward, say, port 81 to the camera's real port (probably 80) and then access it from the internet by IPAddress:81 (add a colon and the port number).
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,432
NO-IP has an excellent port translation capability that will allow you to map your dynamic IP address and change the port at the same time.
 

raj_kalangutkar

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 5, 2009
Messages
124
Port 80 (or maybe 8080)? Some routers refuse to actually forward their default configuration page port even though you can specify it on the port forwarding page. In fact, I think it was a D-Link router that "taught" me this.

If I might be right about this use a different port. That is, forward, say, port 81 to the camera's real port (probably 80) and then access it from the internet by IPAddress:81 (add a colon and the port number).
Ok I will set my camera port to 80. This router has a DMZ too. SO should I enter the camera IP in the DMZ of the router?
 

raj_kalangutkar

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 5, 2009
Messages
124
NO-IP has an excellent port translation capability that will allow you to map your dynamic IP address and change the port at the same time.
Well I am using no-ip. I want to know what is to be done on the ISA server because I'm not well versed with it.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,446
Ok I will set my camera port to 80.
I was not suggesting any change on the camera. I was trying to help with "this always points to my router configuration page and not the camera."
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top