Solved How do I get rid of Windows Admin sign-in screen?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bj nick

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 10, 1999
Messages
2,076
Set up my new desktop, and it always boots up to an Admin screen that says "sign in," but there's no password; I just click on it and I'm in. How can I get rid of this unnecessary sign-in screen? I looked around online but the various options didn't seem to apply to me, and there were dire warnings that eliminating the admin account you lose all your data, etc., etc. I know this has to be much simpler. Thanks in advance!
 

lochlomonder

Colin
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
3,746
This looks like the built-in Administrator account for the workstation which, by default, doesn't have a password. Do you have an alternative account set up on your PC? If so, I recommend setting a password and then deactivating it, just so it's not left open. To deactivate it, do the following:

Log into the account you have set up that's not the Administrator account. Left-click on the Windows Start button, type cmd, and then click on Run as administrator to open the Command Prompt.

Within the command prompt, type in net user admnistrator /active:no and then hit the Enter key. You can now close the command prompt.
 

bj nick

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 10, 1999
Messages
2,076
Thanks for responding. Not sure if I have any separate account.....I sure didn't set one up intentionally.....how do I determine that?
 

lochlomonder

Colin
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
3,746
If you're on the Administrator account, go into File Explorer and navigate to c:\users (presupposing your OS is set up using the default settings) and see which accounts are there. If you only see Administrator, Default and Public folders, you'll need to create an account.

In fact, I recommend setting up two accounts: one as a Standard User for daily use and another with Administrator privileges when you need to install software. This will mitigate against malware using your logged-in account using administrative privileges, although it's not 100% foolproof.
 

bj nick

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 10, 1999
Messages
2,076
Just checked, yep, that's exactly what's there: under C: \ users it's admin, default, public. What's the simplest way to set up the other account you suggest. Of course I would follow your suggestion.
 

lochlomonder

Colin
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
3,746
I gave you a link in my last post which will walk you through the creation of these accounts.
 

bj nick

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 10, 1999
Messages
2,076
Okay, got it. But I'm confused by what they say here: "The best option in most cases, though, is for everyone who uses your PC to have a Microsoft account." Yet in the instructions, they then direct you to: "select Add a user without a Microsoft account." ??? I AM a "Microsoft user" right? I use Office 365, I use Google drive with added storage which includes tech support, etc.....can you clarify?
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2007
Messages
14,557
Well the aim of that linked page is to show you how to create an offline account. But MS couldn't help but add that it is preferable to use an MS account. They really really want people to use an MS account. But for some organizations, they don't want their employees to use an MS account for many reasons.
 

bj nick

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 10, 1999
Messages
2,076
Ah, so this is just like "recommending" that everybody use Bing, Edge, Cortana, etc, etc. (I don't use any of them.) Got it.
 

lochlomonder

Colin
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
3,746
There are two ways to add such accounts. If you have an Outlook.com account, for example, you can add a user that way and it will tie in with 365. The same credential you use for your email will be used to authenticate to the PC. However, as @lunarlander pointed out, it's not always the way people choose. For example, I use offline accounts for my machines, so I don't have to have them tied in with MS accounts.
 

bj nick

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 10, 1999
Messages
2,076
Okay, so I figured what the heck, created another account besides admin, now I get a choice of two and if I don't select admin, I find out I'm going to have to reset up my entire account for this new one. Not interested at all. All I want is to boot up and that's it. For my laptop which is occasionally in public and I do take it around, I'm password protected so every few minutes if I'm not using it I have to enter the password. For my desktop it's not necessary.
 

bj nick

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 10, 1999
Messages
2,076
So, I dumped the other one. Now I'd just like to know how to simply boot up without any other delays/protocols/sign-ins.
 

bj nick

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 10, 1999
Messages
2,076
Thanks! Actually it isn't a password.....it's just a "sign-in" I have to click on.....two-second procedure I'm bellyaching about, but I'd really like to know how to JUST BOOT UP as I've done on my desktop for years and years.....
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top