1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How do I Prevent Twitter from remembering me?

Discussion in 'General Security' started by PiscesMama, Sep 11, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. PiscesMama

    PiscesMama Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Hello Friends,

    I have installed DEEP FREEZE on my computer so that every time I "restart"....my computer is fresh and
    new. I reboot every morning.

    The ONLY online account I have that acts like I was just there AFTER I reboot.....is TWITTER.

    For some reason TWITTER (even without ticking the "Remember Me" box) has my sign-in Name in
    the User field when I go to sign in. It's VERY creepy and I don't like it.

    How can I prevent TWITTER from remembering me??? I want a completely new & fresh sign-in every
    time.

    Thanks

    Pisces Mama
     
  2. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11,575
    If you are using Deep Freeze, then the web site is doing the 'remembering'. Conceivably it can record your ip address and associate it to your sign in name.
     
  3. PiscesMama

    PiscesMama Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Thank you for answering me Lunar. Really appreciate it.

    What concerns me is ....the "Website" USED TO NOT remember me. I've been using Deep Freeze for a while and about the first 4 months I never had this issue.
    I do not "tick" the remember me box.

    BUT ALL OF A SUDDEN.....

    (More info: My Twitter account has been hacked twice in the past but that was many years ago).
     
  4. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,075
    First Name:
    David
    I would cleanup the cookies "BEFORE" you update the Deep Freeze next time.
     
    SmokieT likes this.
  5. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,550
    First Name:
    James
    I have use deepfreeze in an organization. I have had an user use a public computer and left his resume on the desktop, before our IT guy finished working on it and 'froze' the computer. (in hindsight the IT guy shouldn't left that computer available ...)

    Which browser do you use?

    Anyways, 'thaw' your machine, then clear all of the browsing data, including autofill and cache, etc. Then restart the machine and test the website. If it doesn't show up again, then 'freeze' the computer, then restart (which should be happening after the freeze) and test again.

    The only other thing I can think of is that you may have set an area that would not be frozen (Thawed space).
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Prevent Twitter remembering
  1. Automaton539
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    6,315
  2. Karen19
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    5,817

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1232801

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice