1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How do I put winsock.dll back on my comp?

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by bbytndrhrt12, Jan 26, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bbytndrhrt12

    bbytndrhrt12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    I was told I needed the winsock.dll and the winsock32.dll on my computer reloaded to run my internet because it is not picking up my modem and IP Address so how do I get it back on there?
     
  2. MFDnNC

    MFDnNC

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49,014
  3. Cake4All

    Cake4All

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    I had a problem with my high speed dial up
    I did a search for winsock - did you do that?

    I did a registry back up and then
    The tech told me to rename winsock to winsock.old and reboot
    It recreated itself


    but this didn't solve my problem, and I was confused as the newly created winsock had the same date as the .old one.

    What did help was deleting the ethernet adapter and reinstalling that.

    MFDnSC - isn't that link just for an XP situation?
     
  4. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    If you need the Winsock registry fixes for a variety of operating systems, I made them available.

    To Remove the existing winsock2 registry entries (regardless of the OS) run:
    http://www.onecomputerguy.com/reg/xp_del_winsock.reg

    To add Win98 clean entries back in again, run:
    http://www.onecomputerguy.com/reg/win98_winsock.reg

    To add Windows2000 clean entries back in again, run:
    http://www.onecomputerguy.com/reg/winsock_2k.reg

    To add WindowsXP clean entries back in again, run:
    http://www.onecomputerguy.com/reg/xp_winsock.reg

    WINDOWSXP with SP2

    There is a new command you can run with SP2 which will reset the Winsock2 registry entries back to their default setting:

    netsh winsock reset catalog
     
  5. Cake4All

    Cake4All

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    I was curious and Googled 'what is winsock'.
    It looks like it could be operating system specific
    (for example there is a patch on Microsoft that specifies Windows 95, do not use on 98, etc.)

    What operating system are you using?
     
  6. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    If you are missing the winsock.dll file, you can extract it from your Win98 source files to the \windows\system directory.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/323749

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice