1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How do I remove HP Advisor and Yahoo Search from my toolbar?

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Lettertotheworld, Jul 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Lettertotheworld

    Lettertotheworld Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    I have a new laptop, an HP dv5000. I've been working the past couple days to remove bloatware (new term I learned yesterday), adjust the settings, etc. One thing I can't seem to figure out how to do, though I guess it isn't huge: on my toolbar there's a Yahoo search box, with an HP link next to it. It opens up HP Advisor if I double click on it. I don't mind the HP Advisor program, but I don't want the Yahoo Search on my toolbar. I've already deleted the Yahoo toolbar itself, but how do I get rid of this? There's nothing under the HP Advisor preferences that I can find to modify it. Thanks for the help!

    P.S. I've used PC Decrapifier and Advanced Windows Care to clean up my computer -- is anything else recommended?
     
  2. Sebhughes

    Sebhughes

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Can't you uninstall it from "Remove Software" in control panel?
     
  3. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    19,742
  4. Lettertotheworld

    Lettertotheworld Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Yes, I have my backup DVDs. :)

    It's not that I want to remove the HP Adviser program, which I would have to do if I used the Control Panel's remove application. And there's no Yahoo tool bar in my remove applications. So maybe there isn't a way to get it off my tool bar?
     
  5. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    19,742
    I just wanted to make sure you read the fine print ... and made your Recovery DVDs.
    I'll bet there's a way ... Just have to wait for an expert in this area to check in.
    You are running Vista .. Right ???
     
  6. desmin

    desmin Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    ive made a solution download my bat file reomver below or if you dont trust me

    go to Start , Run , type notepad and copy and paste this
    Code:
    @echo off
    
    DEL "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Common\unyt.exe"
    
    DEL "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Common\inst-yinstaller.log"
    
    
    regsvr32 /u /s  "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Search Protection\fdLoad.dll"
    
    regsvr32 /u /s  "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Common\YUnload.dll"
    
    regsvr32 /u /s  "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Common\YVerInfo.dll"
    
    regsvr32 /u /s  "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Common\npyaxmpb.dll"
    
    regsvr32 /u /s "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Common\YDPCTL.dll"
    
    regsvr32 /u /s "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Common\YVerGlance.dll"
    
    regsvr32 /u /s "%systemroot%\cache\yinsthelper.dll"
    
    regsvr32 /u /s "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\atl71.dll"
    
    regsvr32 /u /s  "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\msvcr71.dll"
    
    regsvr32 /u /s  "%programfiles%\Yahoo\Companion\Installs\cpn\YMERemote.dll"
    
    regsvr32 /u /s "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\yt.dll"
    
    regsvr32 /u /s "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\YTAntiSpy.dll"
    
    regsvr32 /u /s "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\YTMsgr.dll"
    
    regsvr32 /u /s "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\msvcp71.dll"
    
    regsvr32 /u /s "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\pubmod.dll"
    
    regsvr32 /u /s "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\YPUBC.dll"
    
    regsvr32 /u /s "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\YTabBar.dll"
    
    regsvr32 /u /s "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\YTBM.dll"
    
    regsvr32 /u /s "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\YTBSDKPS.dll"
    
    call yahooreg.reg
    
    PING 1.1.1.1 -n 1 -w 1567 >NUL  
    
    DEL "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Search Protection\SearchProtection.exe"
    
    DEL "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Search Protection\uninst_ysp.exe"
    
    DEL "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Search Protection\Content"
    
    DEL "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Common\YUnload.dll"
    
    DEL "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Common\YVerInfo.dll"
    
    DEL "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Common\npyaxmpb.dll"
    
    DEL "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Common\YDPCTL.dll"
    
    DEL "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Common\YVerGlance.dll"
    
    DEL "%systemroot%\cache\yinsthelper.dll"
    
    DEL  "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\atl71.dll"
    
    DEL   "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\msvcr71.dll"
    
    DEL   "%programfiles%\Yahoo\Companion\Installs\cpn\YMERemote.dll"
    
    DEL  "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\yt.dll"
    
    DEL  "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\YTAntiSpy.dll"
    
    DEL  "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\YTMsgr.dll"
    
    DEL  "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\msvcp71.dll"
    
    DEL  "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\pubmod.dll"
    
    DEL  "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\YPUBC.dll"
    
    DEL  "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\YTabBar.dll"
    
    DEL  "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\YTBM.dll"
    
    DEL  "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\YTBSDKPS.dll
    
    DEL "%programfiles%\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\YTBSDK.exe
    
    PING 1.1.1.1 -n 1 -w 200 >NUL
    
    echo Yahoo Toolbar Removed!
    
    PING 1.1.1.1 -n 1 -w 400 >NUL
    
    exit
    
    
    and save it as a BAT extension


    now go to start , run , notepad and copy and paste this

    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    [-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Yahoo\Companion]
    [-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Yahoo\SearchProtection]
    [-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Yahoo\Uninstaller]

    then save it as a REG extension

    and put the BAT file and REG file in the SAME folder now click on the BAT file you jsut made and it will remove Yahoo Toolbar in internet explorer
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Frank4d

    Frank4d Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    "call yahooreg.reg" in your batch file won't work unless you include the .REG file. Or are the four lines toward the end of your post supposed to be named that filename?
     
  8. desmin

    desmin Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    yes the four lines
    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    [-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Yahoo\Companion]
    [-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Yahoo\SearchProtection]
    [-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Yahoo\Uninstaller]
    are saved as yahooreg.reg


    AND yes it wolud work i even tested it my self
     
  9. desmin

    desmin Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    you should actually read my instructions
     
  10. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    A dumb question, did you just check to see if you can hide that component of the toolbar in IE? Right click on the blank sport on the toolbar and select Customize.
     
  11. Frank4d

    Frank4d Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    Not wanting to split hairs, but you should read your own instructions in your first post. What part of this:

    tells me to save the file with filename "yahooreg.reg"? :p
     
  12. desmin

    desmin Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    ok save the 4 lines as yahooreg.reg jeez atleast it will work
     
  13. bparks64

    bparks64

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Dear Lettertotheworld,
    did you try it and did it work? Just checking... I have the same problem. Also, to all who mentioned something like it above... the yahoo search that he is talking about is not a toolbar on IE. it is on the taskbar of vista.
     
  14. bparks64

    bparks64

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Ok... here's a much easier solution. Go to control panel > Taskbar and Start menu > choose the toolbars tab > unselect the "HP Advisor" toolbar. That removes it.
     
  15. creativinity

    creativinity

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Thank you so much. :)
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/601415