How do I set higher than native resolution on desktop?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

GbeTech

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 27, 2007
Messages
77
Hello,

I want more work space than my Lenovo ThinkPad E530 currently supplies me with its 1366x768 resolution.

I'm pretty sure there's a way to set it to a higher resolution, say 1920x1080, or something similar with a better aspect ratio, beyond the options Windows gives me.

I'm not interested in it for gaming etc, just Windows and normal programs.

Win7 64
Built-in Intel HD 4000


I've seen ways to do it with NV/AMD cards but nothing with a simple, built-in card.

Any ideas?
Thanks.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,921
Right-click on an empty space on the desktop, then left-click "Screen resolution".

The display window will appear.

The "Resolution" box will list the settings.

---------------------------------------------------------
 

GbeTech

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 27, 2007
Messages
77
Right-click on an empty space on the desktop, then left-click "Screen resolution".

The display window will appear.

The "Resolution" box will list the settings.

---------------------------------------------------------
Hey flavallee thanks for the answer. But I'm trying to set a higher than native resolution, which is unnatural. So Windows doesn't give me that option.
 

DaveBurnett

Account Closed
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
12,970
You cannot display a desktop that is greater than the resolution of your screen.

However some graphics cards used to let you set the desktop to a higher size and you could scroll around it with the mouse or the arrow keys.
I haven't seen this for a few years.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,921
The Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E530 15.6" laptop has a native resolution of 1366 X 768.

There doesn't appear to be a higher resolution option, unless you connect an external monitor to it.

---------------------------------------------------------
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2007
Messages
13,242
The resolution that you can attain is a combination of 2 things: a) the capability of your graphics card, b) the capability of your monitor.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top