How do I transfer files between two computers?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

DDZZ007

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 14, 2001
Messages
29
I have about 200 MB of files I need to transfer from one computer to another, the two computers are both right in front of me. How can I do this, do I need somekind of cables or special software? I have 56K modems and don't want to spend a week downloading stuff I already have.

Thanks for the help!
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2001
Messages
5,531
There are two options I can think of right off the bat.

First, you could set up a home LAN. Of course, you'll need a LAN card for each comp, a hub, and cable for each, which all told could cost you a good 100-120 dollars.

Secondly, you could buy yourself a CD burner, burn the info on a CD, and then you'd no only be able to get it on the other comp, but you could save it if you reformat your HDD's later on. Plus, you can get one for as cheap as $60 now-a-days.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1999
Messages
12,041
If you feel comfortable doing it, take the drive out of the one computer, install as slave on the other, copy the files, then put the drive back into the original computer.

You may have to change jumpers on the drive depending on where you hook it up
 

DDZZ007

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 14, 2001
Messages
29
Does it have to be this complicated? I don't want to go out and spend 60 - 200 dollars just to do this one thing. A year or so ago, I remember seen a guy exchange info between his labtop and his desktop, he used a cable to connect the two, but I'm very certain that it wasn't LAN. He did it in dos mode I think. Thanks for the help.
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2001
Messages
28
A few years back, I bought PC anywhere. It came with the cable to hook up two computers through the parallel port. you can then read the other computer from the host or vice verse...you can also transfer data files, the instructions that came with were pretty self explanatory. I think it sold for around $50.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2000
Messages
6,832
Not quite sure how you figure it is going to cost $60 - $200 to temporarily swap one of the HDs. Zero cost and the hardest part of the job is getting the covers off the computer.

The ethernet cost estimate is absurd for what you are trying to accomplish. 10/100 cards are going for less than $5 on Pricewatch, so you should be able to get a couple and a piece of wire for less than $25 in a computer shop. Anything more would be overkill for what you are doing.

What you saw was a null modem cable hookup. It is a cable that makes the data appear to the computer that it is coming from a modem. They come in parallel and serial with the parallel being faster. Both are slow but not a problem with 200 Mb to transfer. He likely had Laplink software for the laptop, but that is also overkill for what you are doing as all the software you need for a simple transfer is built into Windows.

General instructions: http://www.vision.net.au/~timotsc/null/nullmodem.htm
Cables: http://www.cablesnmor.com/nullmodem.html
DB9 is serial and DB25 is parallel.

BrianF’s suggestion is far and away the best for a one time transfer of data. It should take only a few minutes and you don’t have to dig up any cards or cables. I haven’t looked, but it might take some calling around to find a null modem cable locally.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2000
Messages
6,832
motocross95: Perhaps you could be more specific. I thought a crossover cable required an ethernet card at both ends which he doesn’t have or want to buy.
 
Joined
Apr 27, 1999
Messages
134
DD,
Did you ever think of a ZIP drive? They come in 100MB and 250 MB sizes and are very handy to have. I use one to transfer data between two computers. When I travel to the other computer I take a zip disk that can be in my shirt pocket and then transfer the data. Pardon me if I missed the question.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top