1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How do I turn off ethernet connection and use Wifi?

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by OM2, Feb 17, 2017 at 9:39 AM.

Advertisement
  1. OM2

    OM2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    735
    I have my laptop connected to ethernet

    How do I turn off the ethernet connection and use Wifi?

    I'm being lazy and don't want to unplug the ethernet cable :)

    Is there a DOS script I can use to switch on and off?

    Thanks
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. LIS333

    LIS333

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    There are at least 6 different ways to accomplish this, but since you want the easiest way, I recommend you unplug the cable.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  4. OM2

    OM2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    735
    >> I'm being lazy and don't want to unplug the ethernet cable :)
    that's what i said

    so give me the other 5 ways
     
  5. LIS333

    LIS333

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Go to adapter settings, right click the Ethernet adapter and select disable.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  6. managed

    managed Allan

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    7,448
    Then unplug the ethernet cable !
     
  7. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    72,284
    Since that's more time-consuming than it is to unplug the ethernet cable, don't hold your breath. :rolleyes:

    -------------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. LIS333

    LIS333

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Yeah. I suggested that but I guess the sarcasm was to subtle. I don't like to be condescending.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  9. OM2

    OM2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    735
    thanks for the replies guys.
    i think i'd now prefer a command line execution to turn on and off
    any ideas?

    u guys are right - not worth the bother :)
    one too many mouse clicks
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    72,751
    Probably the netsh command can do as you want.

    For my curiosity, why go to any trouble to use wireless when you are already connected by ethernet and, apparently, do not intend to move the computer?
     
  11. OM2

    OM2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    735
    IP addresses
    I need to be logged in with another IP to test code i am having developed.
    so i have a mobile wifi dongle. i can connect to it - but then still i am connected by ethernet.
    the switch over by unplugging is painful - takes 2-3 minutes.

    netsh - seen the code i need. just condering how to automate and have a single batch file that opens in admin just by being clicked?
     
  12. jenae

    jenae

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    369
    Hi, well it's probably best if you get used to powershell , on my machine I can turn on or off any connection using an elevated powershell command (run powershell as admin).

    To find all your connections at the prompt type:- get-netadapter (press enter) Note what it says under "Name" in my case very simple "ethernet" for one and "wifi" for the other. Now to disable ethernet, type:-

    Get-NetAdapter -Name ethernet* | Disable-NetAdapter (press enter), you will be prompted to confirm, press Y and enter.

    To enable type:-

    Get-NetAdapter -Name ethernet* | Enable-NetAdapter (press enter) you are not prompted the connection is simply enabled.

    It is possible to run this without a confirm prompt, the cmdlet is different.. not needed here.

    EDIT:- just read your last post to run without a confirm prompt:-

    Disable-NetAdapter -Name ethernet -Confirm:$false

    Enable-NetAdapter -Name ethernet -Confirm:$false
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2017 at 8:03 PM
  13. OM2

    OM2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    735
    never used powershell :)
    is that a superior thing to DOS?
     
  14. jenae

    jenae

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    369
    Hi, well yes it is, MS are slowly deprecating command.exe in favour of powershell, which still contains the old command.exe (to invoke cmd in powershell simply type cmd.exe, press enter)

    Powershell has been around for a long time the latest v5 is integrated into windows ten.

    It provides much greater control over the windows shell and is very useful for forum type solutions, takes some getting used to, as did DOS when you see it for the first time. However when I use it on forums (such as this one) all the thread starter usually has to do is copy and paste (even this has changed, with PS you can copy text and right click anywhere in the PS window and the text will append to the prompt, I always run PS as admin).

    I strongly urge all of you to start using it, many of the questions asked here have powershell solutions.

    Here is a brief explanation:-

    http://www.digitalcitizen.life/simple-questions-what-powershell-what-can-you-do-it
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1185476