1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How do I unblock a port?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Webman, Apr 6, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Webman

    Webman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    167
    been wondering...
     
  2. loudman

    loudman

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    124
    Where?
    If you're using a software firewall, I think most have the option in the settings somewhere to open a specific port ( I don't think the windows firewall has that option though, but then nobody should be using that as it's useless) If you're using a hardware firewall, again there will have settings somewhere to release it. I know mine has a menu for firewall and allows the ports to be opened.
     
  3. jmwills

    jmwills

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,477
    Do you mean Port Forwarding?
     
  4. dvk01

    dvk01 Derek Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    47,876
    Why do you want to unblock a port

    firewalls keep ports closed to prevent unwanted persons getting in
     
  5. loudman

    loudman

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    124
    But some ports need to be opened in order to allow certain programs to work correctly. I won't name names because I may get flamed for it :eek: But I have had to open ports at least on temporary basis to get programs to work.
     
  6. jmwills

    jmwills

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,477
    Mostly games need these openings.
     
  7. linskyjack

    linskyjack

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    22,811
    YOu usually do this by accessing your router----usually has an IP address that allows you to get into it. Check with the mfgr of your router.
     
  8. xecutorfifty

    xecutorfifty

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    thats all the help? no offense but that did not help at all.(n)(n)(n)
     
  9. jmwills

    jmwills

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,477
  10. Hughv

    Hughv

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    8,450
    I use a NAT router and Windows firewall, and I feel quite safe. "Useless" is an exaggeration, IMHO.
    The windows firewall is highly configurable, including port exceptions:
    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx/kb/875357
     
  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    You do realize that you posted no useful information to allow folks to actually assist you with specific answers, right? Details about the environment, the specific port, etc. would all help us help you.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/456505