1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How do I wipe System Completely Clean and Re-Install Software??

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by henrydl, Feb 13, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. henrydl

    henrydl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Firstly thanks for reading this:

    Im fairly new to all of this but - I have a laptop and it is rammed with a lot of crap, and the internet connection recently decided to stop working....

    So, I figure, may as well wipe the whole thing clean and re-start - only issue is that i dont have any re-bootable disks or floppys so will have to buy Windows XP etc...

    Probably quite a simple one for you lot but id appreciate any comments -

    THANKS - Henry
     
  2. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
  3. RAM-PAGE

    RAM-PAGE Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,355
  4. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Sounds like you are way past a general cleanup and decided to wipe and reinstall.

    Before you do, you might want to be certain you either have the drivers for all your hardware or document what is currently installed (so you can download it later).
     
  5. henrydl

    henrydl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    thanks so much for answering - yes i do have a copy of the drivers....

    basically i want to re-isntall completetly...i put in the W2K install and it asked me if i wanted to do a clean re-isntall..i said yes...then it started asking me if i wanted to skip or retry certain files which were not located...these files were C:\$32 with a few digits...

    I (gulp) said to skip the files and when it had done everything it rebooted itself and - ahem - it is exactly as it was!

    Thanks again for your kind answer - basically id like to know if it is possible to do something to start on a totally new slate so that i can re-install...

    Henry - london
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/330126

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice