1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How hide files for other users

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by newspaper56, May 31, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. newspaper56

newspaper56 Thread Starter

Is it possible to hide a folder from other users that aren't admins? I do not want it not to activate or be executed, I just don't want it to be possible to be shown on other users.

OR is it possible to just completely deny access to the C:/ Drive. I've tried messing with the security of the C:Drive but sine I'm an Admin AND User at the same time, anything that affects the users affects me as well.

2. TerryNet

TerryNet Terry Moderator

Right click on the folder and select the "Hidden" attribute. I haven't tested this, but pretty sure that non-administrator accounts cannot turn on 'Show hidden folders' and thus see it.

3. lunarlander

lunarlander

Hi Terry, non-admins CAN turn on show hidden files.

4. TerryNet

TerryNet Terry Moderator

Oh! Thanks. :)

And that will show even hidden files owned by another account? I've hardly ever had a second account on a machine, so I should probably keep quiet on these issues.

5. DaveBurnett

DaveBurnett Dave Trusted Advisor

If it is NTFS I believe you can password protect it

6. gurutech

gurutech

Right-click on the file or folder, then go to properties, then the Security tab. From there, click "Edit" under the group or user names section at the top, then look for the users you want to deny access to from the list. Click "Add" and add them if they are not in the list. For each user, highlight the line with their name on it, then click the checkbox for "Full Control" on the "Delete" column. Click Apply, then OK when you are done, then OK again to close out of the properties window.