1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

how much to charge for building a server

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jtn3833, Nov 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jtn3833

jtn3833 Thread Starter

i do freelance tech support for small businesses and families, as i'm sure many on this forum do also.

i'm pretty sure i'm going to be asked to build a server for a small business i'm working with. i've never done this before (i understand the basics and concept though), so i have two questions:

1- does this tutorial look good: http://www.intac.net/build-your-own-server/

2- how much should i charge? i think i would be building it from scratch which would entail buying all of the parts.

should i just do a flat fee (+parts) or bill them for the time it takes to put it together?

i've looked on this forum and the closest question to this one was posted in 2008, so i'm looking for updated info.

thanks for your time and help,
    jtn

2. ChRoNo16

ChRoNo16

Honestly, I would just buy a pre-made server, Dell has nice small business servers for about 500 bucks, and you can upgrade from there. You would struggle to make a decent server for that price.

Software depends what the server is doing, and how many people are connecting to it.

I would just have them pay for the server, and charge a flat fee to install and configure it. what price would depend how much configuration we are talking here.

3. DoubleHelix

DoubleHelix Banned

Who's going to manage and support this server when you're done? Does someone at this business know how to use Linux? Is there a reason you're following the instructions at the link you posted besides the fact that it's the first link in a Google search for "how to build a server"?

4. jtn3833

jtn3833 Thread Starter