1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How Often Should You Reboot Your Computer?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by ugadawgs311, Mar 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ugadawgs311

    ugadawgs311 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    How often should you reboot your computer? I've noticed that my memory usage gradually climbs the longer I have my computer on. I generally put it on standby every night before I go to sleep? Is this a good idea? Or should I just get in the habit of shutting it down at night?
     
  2. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,669
    Personally, I don't use standby. I just shut the machine off at night and restart the next morning.
     
  3. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,098
    Unless you have a reason for having it ON all night I would shutdown.
     
  4. ste63home

    ste63home

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    41
    i always turn off my computer too unless i am downloading i think its better to shut down at night
     
  5. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    Sounds like your system has a memory leak. You should look into what's causing that rather than worrying about how often to reboot. I put my laptop in Standby all the time. I generally only turn it off every couple of weeks.
     
  6. ugadawgs311

    ugadawgs311 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    How can I tell what would be causing this memory leak? Is there any test for it that I can do?
     
  7. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    I suggest posting a HJT log in the Security forum and have one of the experts take a look at it.
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    If it's a memory leak, and not malware, there's a pretty simple way to find it.

    Boot the machine, and take a screen shot of all the tasks in task manager and the memory they're using. After the machine runs for some time, say a day or two, do the same thing and compare the two for a big change in memory use of some task.

    I did some thing similar when I found out that the CMedia mixer.exe has a memory leak and would grow to more than a gigabyte of memory used. Needless to say, at some point this would cause a problem, and I'd normally be reaching for the reset button. Since the mixer really wasn't required, removing it from the configuration solved the problem.
     
  9. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,417
    While I do use standby during the day, I always shut down at night and restart in the AM and I never leave pc on when I am not home.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/549562