1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

how to access programs on dual os....

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by anupam_smarty, Oct 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. anupam_smarty

    anupam_smarty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Am having two os "xp professional(32 bit) and vista home basic(32 bit)"......during boot process computer asks me,to enter the choice for the particular os...........upto here its ok.........now please tell how to install different softwares so this i can access it in both the operating system to which i log in..........

    my e-mail:[email protected]
     
  2. Athan

    Athan

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    27,552
    could you post your setup details please ...like what is installed on which partition ??

    ~a
     
  3. anupam_smarty

    anupam_smarty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Am having four partition.....
    C: VISTA: primary partiton [40 Gb]
    D: XP: primary partiton,boot loader[40 GB]
    E: logical partiton[40 GB]
    F: logical partiton[40 GB]
     
  4. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    You can't access programs from one OS on the other. You have to install them on each.

    The partition setup you have is irrelevant.
     
  5. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    You can - if you are careful - save a bit of space by having a common program files directory on a common drive.

    You still have to install on both Versions of Windows so that the registry and local folders get set up, but they can both use the common program folder providing that the installs are identical.
     
  6. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    That's not the same thing as sharing an application and still requires two licenses. I wouldn't see the point in using a shared installation folder given that both OS's need it installed anyway. Then you double the chances for corruption and problems and seriously complicate troubleshooting.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/643206

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice