1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How to add SCSI hard disk to RAID

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by tzar, Aug 30, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tzar

tzar Thread Starter

Hi there,

I have got two SCSI hard disk arrays running in my server, one is a 3-disks array on RAID-5 and the other one is a 1-disk unRAIDed.

Both arrays are presently holding data.

I want to install another 2 SCSI disks on the second array so that I can RAID these 2 together with the existing 1 on a RAID 5.

Can someone please kindly give me a walkthrough how to do it, because apart from changing hard disks on a PC, I have never done anything with SCSI hard disks before.

Is there any issue with data migration?
    Do I have to temporarily transfer the data in the disk to another storage, install the 2 new disks, RAID the three together, then transfer back the data?
    Or can I just simply plug in the two new disks, and RAID the three together, without having to worry about the data contained?

Ascan be seen I am in very very desperate need for help here.
    So from the time the new disks arrive, what do I have to do?

Thanks so much. Any input is very much welcome and appreciated.

2. crjdriver

crjdriver Moderator

I am not sure I completely understand what you want to do. I think you want to install two new drives onto a scsi card and then create a raid array on those two disks.