How to add the correct amount of ram

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Akamickstar

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 14, 2018
Messages
3
I Have 8gb ram window 10 i7.how much inital ram size and max size should I used. I game alot. I need to get the best performance please thank you
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2017
Messages
615
Depends on other components like what graphics card you have, what else you may be using your machine for, and what kind of games you are and will be playing. You can get away with 8GB for resource-heavy games like Witcher 3, Fallout 4, and such. If you are eyeing some of the bigger and better games that are due to come out the next couple of years, 16GB can go a long way in helping you keep and stay up. They start getting expensive though. That said, if you have the extra funds and want to invest in your gaming, 32GB are a solid option too. Really depends on your wants and needs.
 

Akamickstar

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 14, 2018
Messages
3
ATM I'm playing MW3 multiplayer the comp could barely handle it with system managed pagefile. I7 8 threads and 6600qm 6700qm series 512 mb. I thought I'd be laughing.
 
Last edited:

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,318
We need more information about your gaming computer than you have provided, so please do the following in it:

Download and save the TSG System Information Utility (SysInfo.exe) file.
After it's been downloaded and saved, double-click it to run it.
Information about your computer will appear.
Return here to your thread, then copy-and-paste the ENTIRE text here.

---------------------------------------------------------------
 

Akamickstar

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 14, 2018
Messages
3
We need more information about your gaming computer than you have provided, so please do the following in it:

Download and save the TSG System Information Utility (SysInfo.exe) file.
After it's been downloaded and saved, double-click it to run it.
Information about your computer will appear.
Return here to your thread, then copy-and-paste the ENTIRE text here.

---------------------------------------------------------------
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro, 64 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2675QM CPU @ 2.20GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7
Processor Count: 8
RAM: 8102 Mb
Graphics Card: AMD Radeon 6600M and 6700M Series, 512 Mb
Hard Drives: C: 110 GB (73 GB Free);
Motherboard: Apple Inc., Mac-94245A3940C91C80
Antivirus: Windows Defender, Enabled and Updated
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,318
Clipboard.jpg

These are the performance scores for the processor and graphic device in your Apple Mac.

You didn't completely describe it, so we don't know which model you have.
If you go HERE, you can determine how much RAM it supports.

---------------------------------------------------------------
 
Last edited:
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top