1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How to add the correct amount of ram

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by Akamickstar, Aug 14, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Akamickstar

    Akamickstar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    I Have 8gb ram window 10 i7.how much inital ram size and max size should I used. I game alot. I need to get the best performance please thank you
     
  2. Lanctus

    Lanctus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    Messages:
    615
    Depends on other components like what graphics card you have, what else you may be using your machine for, and what kind of games you are and will be playing. You can get away with 8GB for resource-heavy games like Witcher 3, Fallout 4, and such. If you are eyeing some of the bigger and better games that are due to come out the next couple of years, 16GB can go a long way in helping you keep and stay up. They start getting expensive though. That said, if you have the extra funds and want to invest in your gaming, 32GB are a solid option too. Really depends on your wants and needs.
     
  3. Akamickstar

    Akamickstar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    ATM I'm playing MW3 multiplayer the comp could barely handle it with system managed pagefile. I7 8 threads and 6600qm 6700qm series 512 mb. I thought I'd be laughing.
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2018
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,931
    First Name:
    Frank
    We need more information about your gaming computer than you have provided, so please do the following in it:

    Download and save the TSG System Information Utility (SysInfo.exe) file.
    After it's been downloaded and saved, double-click it to run it.
    Information about your computer will appear.
    Return here to your thread, then copy-and-paste the ENTIRE text here.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. Akamickstar

    Akamickstar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2675QM CPU @ 2.20GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7
    Processor Count: 8
    RAM: 8102 Mb
    Graphics Card: AMD Radeon 6600M and 6700M Series, 512 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 110 GB (73 GB Free);
    Motherboard: Apple Inc., Mac-94245A3940C91C80
    Antivirus: Windows Defender, Enabled and Updated
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,931
    First Name:
    Frank
    Clipboard.jpg

    These are the performance scores for the processor and graphic device in your Apple Mac.

    You didn't completely describe it, so we don't know which model you have.
    If you go HERE, you can determine how much RAM it supports.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2018
    AmateurJohn likes this.
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1214472

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice