1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

how to apply group policy to a runas user?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by masked369, Oct 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. masked369

    masked369 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    group policy which is related to a user does not work when we run a program as user(runas).wh have to login with user on local system(ntuser.dat get updated) and then runas user works with group policy setting.(such as hiding all hard drives).how can i update group policy in user profile without login with user? or runas a program with group policy for the first time?
     
  2. Techmonkeys

    Techmonkeys

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Messages:
    625
    try gpupdate and the command line
     
  3. masked369

    masked369 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    ok i describe it more simple. step 1: you make a gpo in windows 2003 domain control and make domain userX as a member of that gpo step2 : in a client u have logged with userY and u want to run a program (such as notepad) as userX,when u run program the group policy which userX is member of it is not applied. step 3 : you logoff and logon with userX on windows and now group policy is applied. now if u run a program as userX when you logged on with userY or ... every thing is ok and group policy is applied.
    gpupdate apply group policy for current logged on user not for another user which i want run a program as that user. thnx.
     
  4. jmwills

    jmwills

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,477
    Apply the GPO to a Group instead of a User.
     
  5. masked369

    masked369 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    but i need gpo applied for a runas user. example: when 1.i right click on notepad as select Run as.... , 2.run it as userX (while userX is a member of a gpo which hides local drives),3.when user wants to save a document in notepad the dialog must hide all local drives BUT IT IS NOT TRUE.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/758715

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice