1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How to block a specific IP address in Vista

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by rssorated, Jul 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rssorated

    rssorated Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    I have Vista now, and want to block my network from accessing specific IP addresses. When I had Windows XP, I used to use Sygate Personal Firewall to make advanced rules to do this. However, SPF does not work on Vista. What resource-lightweight solution can I use to block specific IPs? Thanks!
     
  2. VistaRookie

    VistaRookie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,956
    I've never made use of it, but it is built into Internet Explorer
    and has been for years.
    .
    Tools->Internet Options->Security Tab->Restricted Sites
     
  3. 00trav

    00trav

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    172
    there is a built in firewall with vista that you can configure, but I would suggest blocking the IP address on your router firewall.
     
  4. rssorated

    rssorated Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    I mean for an entire machine, not just my browser.

    I was just looking for an easy way to do it that can be enabled and disabled on the fly, but this seems to be the easiest way, and I don't know why I hadn't thought of it. Thanks!
     
  5. rssorated

    rssorated Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Neither my router nor Windows Firewall have options to block specific IPs. Any other free Firewall that'd do this?
     
  6. 00trav

    00trav

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    172
    What router do you have, I am surprised there is no option to block IP's
     
  7. rssorated

    rssorated Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    It has dd-wrt firmware for the Linksys WRT54G
     
  8. rssorated

    rssorated Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Anyone? Anyone know how to block IPs using Windows Vista's advanced firewall? I've looked through it and can't find a way.
     
  9. tomdkat

    tomdkat Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    7,141
    It looks like ZoneAlarm can do this. If ZA can, Comodo should be able to as well.

    Peace...
     
  10. jnibori

    jnibori

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,226
    Not really too up on Vista, but sites in XP can be blocked, via the Host file. Perhaps it's applicable to Vista.

     
  11. tomdkat

    tomdkat Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    7,141
    Using the hosts file will work for hostnames and domains but not for "raw" IP addresses. I had thought about using the hosts file as well until I realized it wouldn't block an actual IP address.

    Peace...
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/728306