1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How to change boot drive in bios?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Fonzarilla, Dec 1, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Fonzarilla

    Fonzarilla Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    The problem I’ve been having is that after the bios screen I get a black screen with a blinking white cursor. I pop my windows dvd into my drive and change the boot priority to cd rom, thinking I can do a system restore to a previous date.
    I have five physical hard drives. 4 1tb drives in a raid system for storage and a 500gb hdd drive to run OS and some games on. What I found out is bios has one of the storage drives having boot priority, but I cannot chose the hdd drive that the is works on.
    After start up I press F8 and it gives me a larger list of drives to boot from, including the hdd drive, so I am able to boot up that way without issues. But do not know how to make this the priority drive is bios.
    Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2018
  2. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11,411
    Can't be, the boot drive is user selectable, or else it wouldn't be there. Did you try all keys ? Arrow keys and tab key ?
     
  3. Fonzarilla

    Fonzarilla Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    the only options bios gives me for a boot drive is cd rom, removable disk, and a storage drive. Not the hdd drive
     
  4. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11,411
    what are calling a 'storage drive' and how is that different from 'hdd drive' ? Aren't both the same ?
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1219870

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice