1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How to change boot order after install

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by THISISME, Apr 30, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. THISISME

    THISISME Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    I have a Toshiba Tecra 8200 with Windows XP Home and last week I installed a plug and play bootable Sony DVD CD-RW drive.

    Since that time it won’t boot the way it used to.

    Here is the situation report.

    I turn it on.

    I get a “Press [F2] for the boot device selection menu.”

    I press F2 and 90 seconds or more later the selection menu appears.

    I select “Boot from internal HD” and the systems boots up.

    If possible I want my computer to boot automatically to the built in hard drive. I like the option of booting to the other devices. I would like to keep the option open to press F2 at start up. However if I don’t press F2 I would like it to boot to the hard drive without my intervention in a short amount of time.

    I know there must be a simple way to do this but I don’t know how to do this. Someone please help, I can’t afford to pay someone $ 50.00 to do this for me right now.
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. WarC

    WarC

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    5,531
    Access the computer bios. Check your manual for the correct button, as it varies depending on system. in the bios there are all sorts of menus, including one for boot order or boot priority.

    EDIT: If you don't have a manual, randomly press these buttons during startup until one works and you get into bios :D :D

    try TAB, DEL, F1, and F3 through F12

    One of those is bound to work.
     
  4. THISISME

    THISISME Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    I don’t have a manual and I don’t know what button to push at start up to reach the system bios. If I did I might be able to figure the rest out all on my lonesome.

    Someone out there has the answer and wants to tell it to me. I just know it!
     
  5. THISISME

    THISISME Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Ok WarC, If all else fails I will give your approach a try.
     
  6. THISISME

    THISISME Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    WarC This is taking roughly 6min for each attempt.

    I did learn that it does eventually boot to the built in HD if left on its own in 5min.

    I want at that bios. I want to cut that time down to 10seconds.
     
  7. willya29

    willya29

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Go to the internet and access the Toshiba company page. They should have a place to get the manual for your computer. If not, their faq page or troubleshooting guide should tell you how to access your Bios. Most bios are accessed by pressing delete before windows starts to load.
     
  8. Whitestar

    Whitestar

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2003
    Messages:
    511
    Yeah, u have to start pressing the button almost directly after you turn the computer on.
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Your laptop uses an MS-DOS application called TSETUP.EXE to access the BIOS configuration. You can probably download it from the Toshiba support website.
     
  10. dobhar

    dobhar

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    350
    Hi THISISME...

    The following web page will help you with your key combination...also you should be able to see what make of BIOS your Laptop is using as soon as you as you turn on your Laptop...it should Display Award, AMI, Phoenix, etc...

    http://www.inventio.co.uk/gettingintothebios.htm

    Edit:
    According to the page above...Toshiba Laptop's either use the "Toshiba Utility" mentioned by Johnwill or using "ESC" or "F1" key stroke.
     
  11. aolsux

    aolsux Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    365
  12. THISISME

    THISISME Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks guys, I was able to get into the Bios and the installed hard drive was the default. Unfortunately there isn’t a time setting for the boot/default so I can’t speed it up.
    It takes forever (more than 2min) for the default to kick in and boot to the HD since I installed the bootable DVD/CD-RW drive.

    I guess this is just the price I have to pay if I want to keep the new bootable drive.

    In closing I just want to say thank you again to everyone for trying to help. I learned how to get into my Bios and there are times when that can come in handy.

    Dobhar and aolsux, Thank you for the great links; I have bookmarked most of them.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/225321