1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How to change ' Site Blocked By NETGEAR Firewall ' page

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Distance, Mar 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Distance

    Distance Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    319
    I have got the Netgear DG834G Firewall router


    When I block sites it comes up with the following page:

    HTML:
    <html>
    <head>
    <meta http-equiv=\"content-type\" content=\"text/html;charset=ISO-8859-1\">
    <title> Web Site Blocked </title>
    <style type=\"text/css\">A{text-decoration:none}</style>
    <body bgcolor=black text=white>
    	<br><br><br>
    <table border=0 width=100%><tr height=25><td bgcolor=red></td></tr>
    <tr><td><br><center><H2>Web Site Blocked By NETGEAR Firewall</H2><br></td></tr>
    <tr height=25><td bgcolor=red></td></tr></table>
    <p align=right><a href=http://www.netgear.com><font color=white size=5><b>NETGEAR</head></html>
    

    I want to know how to change this page to something different.

    Any way to change this?


    Thanks alot

    Josh
     
  2. XtremeNuker

    XtremeNuker

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    286
    Is it suppose to appear like that, from my knowledge my router is also able to block websites but its suppose to show successfully added. Now it seems like a router firmware issue. Check it out with Net Gear website. You will never know it might be a firmware issue.
     
  3. Distance

    Distance Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    319
    I don't think you understand :)

    I know why that page shows, when I block websites and there is no problem with that. Infact there is no problem at all.

    However I wish it to show my own custom page and I wanted to know a way to do this :)
     
  4. Distance

    Distance Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    319
    Bump, anyone?
     
  5. Edfrommars

    Edfrommars

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    94
    Possibly search around the install directory for a .html file that could be the blocked page one, then change it to whatever you want.
     
  6. Distance

    Distance Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    319
    I have tried that method, my thoughts are it is stored within the router itself.
     
  7. Edfrommars

    Edfrommars

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    94
    In that case, I doubt you can change them because you probably aren't allowed access to those files.
     
  8. hermes

    hermes

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2000
    Messages:
    642
    The only thing I could think of is to see if you can locate it on the startup disk and copy the whole contents of the disk to your hard drive, change the html code on the file, and remove and reinstall, but from the hard drive. You may need to copy the html page and make the changes then save it to the install files and overwrite the original as it may be write protected.

    Else, you could try asking coders if there is a script you could insert somewhere to display a different page than the default. Beyond me i'm afraid.
     
  9. Distance

    Distance Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    319
    Its netgear its not as easy as asking the coder

    However the support co said there is no html file on my system to alter
     
  10. hermes

    hermes

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2000
    Messages:
    642
  11. hermes

    hermes

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2000
    Messages:
    642
    i happen to have a spare one of these and might give this a go myself out of interest.
     
  12. hermes

    hermes

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2000
    Messages:
    642
    I also emailed a mate who deals with the netgear techies through his job and he's going to ask them.
     
  13. Distance

    Distance Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    319
    Thanks! :)
     
  14. Distance

    Distance Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    319
    Any updates?`
     
  15. Distance

    Distance Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    319
    On holiday will check back in 2weeks

    Nice to see a reply when I get back :)
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/553007