1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

how to configure outlook?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by testbysunny, May 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. testbysunny

testbysunny Thread Starter

hi,
    i am new to outlook. i have just installed outlook on my pc. i dnt know how to add email account or manage it. and what is the term outlook connector and what is use of it? can i add gmail and yahoo account also in outlook? can my differrent accounts work together in outlook?
    thank you.

2. EAFiedler

EAFiedler Retired Moderator

Hi testbysunny

The Outlook Connector is a free program you can download to collect your Hotmail account messages.
    Download the Outlook Connector here:
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...89-af2e-41f9-a175-f93e1377959f&displaylang=en

More about the Outlook Connector:
    http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/outlook/HA102225181033.aspx

You must have a paid subscription to Yahoo to be able to download messages onto your hard drive.
    If you do not, then the answer is "No", you cannot setup Yahoo in Outlook.

Yes, you can configure your Gmail account in Outlook:
    Login to your Gmail account and click on the Settings link at the top right of the page.
    Then click the Forwarding and POP/IMAP tab.
    There you can enable POP access to Gmail.

What version of Outlook are you using?
    Help > About will tell you.

3. testbysunny

testbysunny Thread Starter

i have installed office 2007 and 2010 beta. they automatically installed outlook.
    i dnt know how to configure it.

4. EAFiedler

EAFiedler Retired Moderator

If you have a Hotmail account, start with downloading the Outlook Connector and installing it.
    I if recall, the prompts should walk you through the setup.