1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How to connect a DSL modem to a D-link DIR-815 router?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by php111, Jan 12, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. php111

php111 Thread Starter

Hey everyone,

I am new to setting up routers since I never bought a router before. This is the first time I actually bought one. I ordered the D-link DIR-815 router online at Walmart.com, and I'll be receiving it this Monday which is the 14th, so I am asking my questions on here now, so I could be prepared. Please let me know what questions everyone has one for me.

1.) I don't have a wireless card in my PC, so I will be connecting wired to get WiFi via WAN and LAN ports, right? First before I forget, I have a Windows 7 32-bit desktop PC if that helps. We are working with a DSL modem residential line without phone line using a coaxial cable, and Ethernet cable from modem into the PC. May someone please provide step by step walk through instructions by connecting this D-link router to my modem and WiFi, and for me to use the WPA2 security?

2.) I have an iPhone 4 with Verizon. If I want to use my iPhone to get WiFi from the router, and turn off the Internet on my phone, and use WiFi only on my phone, how would this work?

Thank you if someone could provide info!

2. TerryNet

TerryNet Moderator

First Name:
    Terry
    Unplug the modem and shut down the computer.

Connect modem to router's WAN port and computer to a LAN port.

Plug in modem. Plug in router. Boot computer.

Assuming that modem is really just a modem login to the router and set the WAN (Internet) configuration appropriately--probably PPPoE and your account/password. You should now have internet access, and can configure the wireless as desired.