1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How to connect computer to internet

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Dan43107, Dec 23, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Dan43107

    Dan43107 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    I am keen to build a good gaming computer and a key thing is internet connection. I really want to know how I can connect a computer to the internet. I'm pretty sure I just need to get a wireless adapter (not a USB one) but I don't know if that is everything I need. I do have an internet connection but I really want to know what to do.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    We need to know what type of internet connection you have available. Can you supply the modem manufacturer and model? And if there is a router, the manufacturer and model for it?
     
  3. Dan43107

    Dan43107 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    I'm not so great with these things. All I really know is that i'm running of BT Home hub 3 and all the computers are not connected with an Ethernet cable so the router is wireless.
     
  4. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    Ok, so you will want to have a wireless adapter card (PCIe or PCI, depending on your motherboard slots). It is a good idea to get one that has removable antennas, in case you might want to upgrade or move the antenna later. After you install the drivers which are included with it or downloadable, you will need to configure the computer to connect to it.
     
  5. Dan43107

    Dan43107 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks. The motherboard i'm looking at says 1 x PCIe 2.0 x16, 1 x PCIe 2.0 x1, 1 x PCI so i'm guessing i can go with either. Thanks for the very quick reply.
     
  6. Dan43107

    Dan43107 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    4
  7. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    Yes it should work.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1082096

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice