How to connect laptops for a LAN party?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

SPL Tech

I am going to have a LAN party with about 3 other people. I am wondering what I need for equipment and how to go about creating a Ethernet LAN so we can play together. We want to play P2P, not over the Internet.

TerryNet

Terry
For n computers an n-port ethernet switch and n ethernet (CAT5E) cables.

Also you may want to add a power strip or 2 as well with "n" computers your gonna need some juice. :)

Another side note buy the n ethernet cables for the max distance. It would suck to buy some small ones but not get the computer into proximity to play.

SPL Tech

Ok is there anything else other then cat 5e cable I need? I just wanted to make sure that was the correct device I needed. I have never used or bought a gigabyte switch before, and this is my first local LAN party. Could you go through how I need to set up the network once I have all the comps plugged in? We will all be using either XP Home or Vista Home. Most of us will have Vista Home. Thanks.

TerryNet

Terry
Connect them to the switch.

Make sure any 3rd party firewalls are allowing LAN access.

Easiest is to use dynamic addressing; each computer will be self-assigned an IP of type 169.254.x.y; when I've done this with wireless with 3 PCs it has taken up to a minute, so be patient.

Depending on your needs you may decide to use static IP addresses. These could be assigned on the TCP/IP Properties General tab or on the Alternate Configuration tab. If you go this way I suggest assigning 10.0.0.x (0 < x < 255), mask = 25.255.255.0 to each. If you need to know specific person's IP, I suggest going this way. It's more work to setup, but a heck of a lot easier to remember the exact IP addresses.

SPL Tech