1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How to disable boot from USB

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Man, Sep 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Man

    Man Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2000
    Messages:
    238
    PC will not boot if USB flash drive/HD is connected at time of boot. Any type of usb drive, dvd, ram stick, hdd, will cause it to boot on the usb item and it's driving me nuts, can't leave anything plugged in and boot or re-boot!

    No options in Bios to disable this .
    Help please.
     
  2. TheOutcaste

    TheOutcaste

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    9,028
    Someplace in the BIOS is a place to set boot order, you just need to move USB so it comes after HDD and CD.

    If not on a tab of it's own, it's usually under Advanced

    The user guide for the PC/Motherboard should describe the settings. Download the PDF from the PC/MB maker and search them for "boot order" or "boot sequence". Could be called startup instead of boot as well.

    HTH

    Jerry
     
  3. Man

    Man Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2000
    Messages:
    238
    The problem is that even after I reset the order, the order gets changed on booting with the usb device connected! Bios has a mind of its own!
     
  4. muppy03

    muppy03

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,893
    First Name:
    Chris
    you have to find the correct way to save on your system after you have made the change to the boot order. Some comps dont show the save option clearly
     
  5. telwat

    telwat

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Sometimes connecting at the back works fine and front doesn't.

    You can disable USB Legacy support option in bios. Don't do that if you use an USB keyboard and/or mouse.
     
  6. thebrownone

    thebrownone

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    If your comp doesn't maintain the settings made in the CMOS, it is likely that the CMOS battery has died. Shouldn't cost you more than $5-6 to get a new one to see what happens.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/752242

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice