1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How to enter BIOS setup on my new mobo

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by danowat1, Feb 19, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. danowat1

    danowat1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    Messages:
    18
    I have just purchased and installed a new intel d845wn mobo with a 1.7ghz P4, it all works fine but i cannot get into the BIOS.
    The manual says hit F2 but that dosent seem to work.

    Any Ideas?

    Cheers
    Dan.
     
  2. RandyG

    RandyG

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    7,762
    Do you ever see at the bottom of the screen something like
    or something along those lines at the beginning of bootup?

    If you haven't, then your Setup entry screen is going too fast. Try pressing the key, or even holding it down when you switch the power on.
     
  3. danowat1

    danowat1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    Messages:
    18
    I dont seem to have a POST message like I used to have, I just get some kind of funky intel splash screen with a big P4 logo on it then it starts loading the OS.
    I'll try holding down F2 when I hit the power button tonight

    Thanks

    Dan.
     
  4. RandyG

    RandyG

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    7,762
    or repeatedly hitting the button once you start the system. One or the other should work. Your POST message has been set to cycle too quickly, and is probably displaying as the signal is being sent to the Monitor, but disappearing before the display is fully on.

    Come back and let us know how it goes.;)
     
  5. danowat1

    danowat1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    Messages:
    18
    Ok I'll try everything tonight.

    Cheers for the help.

    Dan.
     
  6. Pernod

    Pernod

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 1999
    Messages:
    152
    I've got the D845HV Mobo and it does the same, big splash screen with P4 inside. But hold F2 straight from boot takes me into the BIOS.
     
  7. danowat1

    danowat1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    Messages:
    18
    Yep I held down F2 while I turned it on and it worked.

    Thanks guys!

    Dan.
     
  8. RandyG

    RandyG

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    7,762
    Cool, glad to help.:D
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - enter BIOS setup
  1. Amrita101tt
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    164
  2. KingBeta
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    122
  3. Phcyman
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    286
  4. SteveKarns
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    149
  5. Tlqkd
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    131
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/69588

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice