Tech Support Guy banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

How to factory reset please help

10K views 3 replies 4 participants last post by  Walloped 
#1 ·
I am a college student and I recently bought an Acer Aspire R11 Notebook and I am now having problems... My student data files are on a flash drive, I went to put it in last night and it wouldn't respond... I tried the flash drive in the computer at my school and I was able to see my files... Tonight I came home and I tried again and yet again it said "flash drive not responding". So I was going to factory reset the computer and googled how to do it. I have windows 8 so I have tiles like an iPhone. I clicked on the settings tile and it just stalled with the logo on the screen and will not open.. I have tried many times to open settings and just keeps stalling. I have 2 presentations due in a couple of days with no other way to do them. So please if you could help, I would greatly appreciate it.
Thank you
Cassandra Hill

#2 ·
Maybe Acer has a Recovery Manager, which will not require going to Settings. Look, or Search, for it on the Start Screen.

Probably there is a way to get to "recovery" or "restore" upon power up; check Acer's documentation.

After you get this working again I recommend that you upgrade to 8.1.

#3 ·
#4 · (Edited)
The first thing you should do is update your windows so you have all the latest security installs and drivers from Microsoft.

"I have windows 8 so I have tiles like an iPhone. I clicked on the settings tile and it just stalled with the logo on the screen and will not open.. I have tried many times to open settings and just keeps stalling."

Do you know how to use Windows properly. Are you using it properly. I'm saying that because windows 8 does not have the easiest interface for people without alot of computer knowledge. The first time I saw windows 8, I ran away screaming and pulling out my hair, as I found it so annoying.