How to find Ad-Aware on my PC

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Geezer77

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 7, 2002
Messages
60
Acting on recommendations on these forums, I downloaded Ad-Aware from Lavasoft, via the PC magazine connection.
Thought I had done this correctly. But now can not find it on my machine. The very clear and well written directions posted by Winchester73, which I also downloaded, printed and stored on machine, have not worked for me. Will one of you experts tell me how to find this program on my machine and continue with the Winchester73 steps to make it work?
I have a Dell Dimension 466x with Windows 98SE Internet explorer, Norton Internet Security 2004, Norton Firewall 2002. In general it is working fine for me. Was just able to put in more memory from Dell (to a total of circa 380 bites or bits or mgs or whatever is the unit) and add an external CDRW machine from Iomega to do backups.
Geezer77
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
do a search for it using windows search put in the date you d/l it and search when it comes up double click on it
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2003
Messages
894
Hi,

The default location for Ad-Aware is this

"C:\Program Files\Lavasoft\Ad-aware 6\Ad-aware.exe"

hth

Ceri
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
If you can't find the installer its called aaw6181.exe - you can do a search/find for the file or it would be saved where all your downloads go by default. After installing it its in the program list under Lavasoft Adaware.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2003
Messages
2,367
did you "open" or "save" the program when you downloaded it? if the above suggestions don't help, re-download the program. When it asks click "save" and save it a folder like C:programFiles/downloaded programs/Ad-Aware. Don't save it to the desktop...a buddy of mine did that and he had problems.
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
you need to have a set folder to save d/l to,to make it easy to find them later.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top