1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How to find and install xp sp1

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by BagelAnne, Jan 27, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BagelAnne

    BagelAnne Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    140
    I have a Dimension 4500s that had to have a new HD installed.
    My dell reinstall os disk is win xp with no service packs
    When I try to download sp1a and install, it goes on the internet looking for sp1 and says server cannot be found.
    When I go on win update they want me to update my browser (it has IE6)
    When I try to update the IE, the error says cannot run on this version of XP.

    Anyone have a way to get my computer up and running??
     
  2. Lozzy-loz

    Lozzy-loz

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    627
  3. Mark1956

    Mark1956

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1087092

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice