1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How to Fix Mouse Lag

Discussion in 'Games' started by sports89, Jan 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sports89

    sports89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    I know my computer sucks but this game works all perfectly except for the the slow mouse movement on battles and on the campaign map

    Here's my specs

    512 MB
    Nvidia 6200
    Intel Pentium 2.2 GHz

    I've already tried putting it on the lowest settings

    Turning of v-sync and anti- aliasing

    Do you think its just because my computer sucks though I've heard that people with even more worse computer have had no problem

    I've also heard about something to do with finding the process for your mouse in windows task manager and putting it's priority to above normal, though isn't the task manager processes only for software, please help me

    the games rome total war
     
  2. burntreality

    burntreality

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    193
    What game?
     
  3. sports89

    sports89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    oops i forgot to add that, Rome total war
     
  4. burntreality

    burntreality

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    193
    The 512 MB is that how much memory you have in your system?
    Does your mouse use drivers? If so have you updated them.

    I have never personally played the game but if you only have 512 MB of memory I could easily see that being the problem.
     
  5. burntreality

    burntreality

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    193
    Just googled the game, looks like pretty low system requirements. Do you have anything in the background eating up your system resources maybe?
     
  6. sports89

    sports89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    I do not think my mouse uses drivers its a intelli 5v20ma and I do not run anything else when playing the game
     
  7. sports89

    sports89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    how do you find out if your mouse uses drivers could you download them for your mouse?
     
  8. sports89

    sports89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    some on
     
  9. Deathanchor

    Deathanchor

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    IS your mouse wireless? That can often times create natural lag. Especially when your using a lot of system resources. I suggest trying to use another mouse, maybe just borrow one from someone if you don't have a spare. Then you will know if it's just the mouse. If problems persist even with a different mouse, I would recommend setting up some virtual RAM fro yourself, maybe just 256 MB of it or so.

    To add virtual RAM look in Control Panel: System, Advanced, Performance, Settings, Advanced, Virtual Memory.
     
  10. sports89

    sports89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    no my mouse isn't wireless its an intelli 5v20ma i think
     
  11. sports89

    sports89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    is it because I have a ball mouse?
     
  12. Tankmaster

    Tankmaster Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    859
    try on another computer
     
  13. jujuswift

    jujuswift

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    I too would recommend first trying another mouse, you can also make sure to update your direct X version and your graphic card drivers.
     
  14. sports89

    sports89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    my graphic card drivers is up to date and I have the latest version of direct x
     
  15. the_man550

    the_man550

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    329
    Download fraps from here;
    http://www.fraps.com/download.php

    Start the program and then start your game (without closing fraps).
    In the upper right corner, your FPS will be shown.
    Look there and report back an average FPS count.

    I'm not so sure your mouse's name is 'Intelli 5v20ma'. That sounds like a weird copy paste from 5v 20mA, which are electricity properties.
    Try to find the proper name and report it back.

    If you do find the name, look for drivers on the web. Should be easy to find (google 'yourMouseName+drivers') and download them.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/895656