1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How to get 100Mbps networking speed

Discussion in 'Networking' started by rasmasyean, Apr 24, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rasmasyean

    rasmasyean Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    158
    My XP netbook says it has a 100Mbps port.
    I connected a network cable from my Vista computer to it and dragged over a bunch of files to a shared folder on it.

    It says the Speed is around 100KB/sec. ThatÂ’s 800kbps right? At around 6GB is estimates 17 hours.

    What gives?
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Hard to say. I have seen issues between Vista and XP due to Vista's auto-tuning.

    Quote from: http://silverstr.ufies.org/blog/archives/001035.html
     
  3. rasmasyean

    rasmasyean Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    158
    I coulda sworn that I did it before and it wasn't that slow. That's really weird.
     
  4. rasmasyean

    rasmasyean Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    158
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Did you reboot after changing the parameters?
     
  6. rasmasyean

    rasmasyean Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    158

    Reboot didn't work either. :(
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    If you look at the properties of the NIC on the machine, is it actually running at 100mbit? Try changing it's mode to force 100mbit full-duplex.
     
  8. rasmasyean

    rasmasyean Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    158
    Yes it says 100mb. How do you "force" it.

    The connection of my Desktop to my router says 1gb.

    I also tried connecting the netbook to my router.

    It didn't do this before. I used to share my DVD drive and copy like a whole DVD in a few minutes.
     
  9. rasmasyean

    rasmasyean Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    158
    I set it back and rebooted again.
    I just did that query and it says the Auto-Tuning is "highlyrestricted".

    What does that mean?
     
  10. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I've never seen that response, don't know what it means. :)
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,792
    First Name:
    Terry
    In Device Manager right click on the ethernet connection - Properties - Advanced - change the "Speed & Duplex" property to 100 Mbps full duplex. Maybe the gigabit and 100/10 Mbps adapters are having difficulty auto syncing to a speed, as John said. Try the above setting on the Desktop. If that doesn't help try it on the other computer also.
     
  12. rasmasyean

    rasmasyean Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    158

    Nope. Didn't work. Still arround maybe like 1 mbs. It says like a 700MB file will take like 2 hours or something.

    Through the router it's no difference either. And I know the router can deliver like 18mbs at least through the internet from speedtest.com.

    Could this mean that the problem is with the netbook end?
     
  13. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,792
    First Name:
    Terry
    If only the netbook is having difficulty with the internet then yes, the problem seems to be contained within the netbook.

    Just in case ...

    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2 or SP3.

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  14. rasmasyean

    rasmasyean Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    158
    Oh...I just tried the speedtest.com with the netbook and it wen't 18Mbps too. phht...I guess there's nothing wrong with that!

    You know, one thing I did do before this was delete a whole bunch of stuff from the netbook. like maybe 10GB or so worth of files. Could that have something to do with it? Perhaps a disk fragmentation thing?
     
  15. rasmasyean

    rasmasyean Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    158
    I tried this again yesterday and it "corrected itself" apparently. The only thing I can think of that "changed" since then was I deleted my cache on Internet Explorer. I'm not sure this was the culprit, but I don't recall "changing" anything else bigger since then. Could it be something in the cache that is doing this? Perhaps adware or something that monitors network traffic and slows it down? But the funny thing was that it didn't slow the internet down at all.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/918993

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice