How to get headphones working?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

zvone

Thread Starter
Joined
May 22, 2003
Messages
552
On my desktop I got 2 inputs for headphones(back&front) but none is working. The only way I can get them to work is to unplug the speakers(back panel) and plug headphones instead.I tried everything in Realtec Sound manager but with no success. I couldn't find anything in BIOS related to sound. I even opened my com. and all the wires seemed to be in order.Any suggestions?
 

zvone

Thread Starter
Joined
May 22, 2003
Messages
552
Yes it does. This thing is amazing. I read about 100 posts about similar problems and the solution still remains a mystery. The best answer was to buy new pair of speakers with an input for headphones! I just wander why they put that input at the front panel when it's in most cases useless(asked 6-7 friends, none was able to figure it out)?
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2002
Messages
3,491
That motherboard should have a "front panel High Definition audio connector".

Is that what the front panel wires plug in to? It should look like an 8 pin connector.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2002
Messages
3,491
Well, the way it's supposed to work with front panel high definition controllers is, when you plug headphones in, the speakers automatically mute and the headphones now carry the audio out.

I don't know why it's not working in your case. Perhaps some pics of your setup and motherboard connections would help...
 

zvone

Thread Starter
Joined
May 22, 2003
Messages
552
You are right mate. In Realtec sound manager I've selected the option:"Mute rear panel output when front headphone plugged in" but unfortunately nothing happens. Regarding setup and motherboard pics, it's not worth it mate because so many people got the same problem and nobody have figured out how to fix it. Anyway prunejuice, thank's for your help!
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2011
Messages
2
I've had the same problem as you.
Your CPU chassis front panel is probably AC97 while the audio headers on your motherboard is HD audio. The "sense" pin is located differently which is why your sound card cannot detect when a headphone is inserted in the front panel.

Here's a workaround for manually enabling headphone output via the front panel:
1. Open Realtek Audio Manager.
2. Under "Advanced Device Settings", enable "Make front and rear output devices playback 2 different audio streams simultaneously"
3. You should have an "HD Audio 2nd output" tab.
4. To switch from speaker to headphone, select the "HD Audio 2nd output" tab and click on "Set default device".
5. To switch to speaker, select the "Speakers" tab and click on "Set default device".

This might also give you some ideas:
http://www.techyv.com/questions/headphone-not-detected-new-computer#comments
 

zvone

Thread Starter
Joined
May 22, 2003
Messages
552
Unfortunately, I don't have that option in Realtec at all!?
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2011
Messages
2
@zvone

Do you mean the "HD 2nd audio output" tab?

You may have to enable HD audio in your BIOS. Some BIOSes have an option for choosing between HD audio or AC97.

You might also have to update your Realtek drivers to get the latest Audio Manager.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top