How to get System Restore to work When ON?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

tomsxp

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 3, 2001
Messages
378
Hello, Can someone tell me how to get System Restore to work when its ON? I have plenty of disk space and i never used it before (new PC) When i go to the system restore screen it has 2 calenders one on left and one on right and the date thats on there is always the date i access it, so i clicked on the arrow on the left calendar and it went back to October 30 and if i click on the BOLD DATE Nothing happens and i am suppose to be able to change the date but can't! Nothing moves, Anyone have any idea's why I cannot get this going? I tried a few of the System restore web sites for troubleshooting but none of it seem to be associated with my problem! Would really appreciate any help at all, Thank You TOM
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
Tom
All I can suggest is go through all the registry sttings listed in this MSKB article and make sure something is not amiss.
The article url is in the attached text file so copy and paste url into address bar. Sorry about the inconvience but MS as others changed over to some long CGI script and I have no figured out yet how to display hyperlink correctly.
Dave
 

Attachments

tomsxp

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 3, 2001
Messages
378
Dave, looked and a lot of values etc. cannot be modified and the ones that could, i didn't see any thing wrong with them, It must be something simple that i am missing? If you find out anything else please let me know and Thanks, Thanks Tony for the shortcut! TOM PS: I am sure there must be someone out there that tried to use System Restore and when they clicked on the BOLD DATE on Calendars Nothing happened, Maybe it has something to do with FIRST TIME USE?
 

tomsxp

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 3, 2001
Messages
378
Tony, Thank You for the troubleshooting sites. but none of them seem to the problem i am having! I have plenty of disk space and its turned on. There is one site you gave me and it talked about signing on as Aministrator, I believe i am the Administrator by default with XP but do i have to sign on somewhere first?
 

tpb

Joined
Feb 27, 2001
Messages
573
Have you checked in your restore folder to see if any restore points have been made?

Click Start , and then click My Computer .
On the Tools menu, click Folder Options .
On the View tab, click Show hidden files and folders .
Clear the Hide protected operating system files check box. Click Yes when you are prompted to confirm the change.
Click OK .
Open the System Volume Information folder.
Open the Restore folder.
There should be folders named RPxx, these are your restore points. How many folders are there? Also right click then click properties, on some of them. Check the date they were created.
Are there any for Nov & Dec?
 

tpb

Joined
Feb 27, 2001
Messages
573
Are you logged on as Administrator when you try to use restore?
 

tomsxp

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 3, 2001
Messages
378
I don't know, I never did it before, where do i log on as administrator? I thought it was automatic!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top