1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How to go in Safe Mode on Windows XP2?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Nineleven, Jun 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Nineleven

    Nineleven Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Is it F8, F9, or F10? I cant remember....


    And what are the steps to get there?


    I used to be able to go in Safe Mode all the time, but now having trouble...i dunno...help :confused:
     
  2. Nineleven

    Nineleven Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    anyone?
     
  3. Augie65

    Augie65

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,052
    Try Tapping F8 before windows splash screen. With the arrow keys select safe mode and hit enter.
     
  4. mi6recon

    mi6recon

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    44
    yep it's F8
     
  5. simelwill

    simelwill

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    84
    Not always depends - mine is F1 to get into safe mode
     
  6. steven1350

    steven1350

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    862
    What windows are you running? Ever since I first entered safe mode (win98) it has always been F8. I have never heard of using F1. Are you sure that you arent going to your bios?
     
  7. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,937
    My last 3 Asus boards have been F5. It is all in what the bios is programmed for. You would think that the major players could at least agree on certain things like "delete to enter setup" and "F8 to enter safe mode". Maybe even "F5 for boot menu"?

    No way, they all gotta be different. :p
     
  8. MFDnNC

    MFDnNC

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49,014
    Safe mode is a function of the OS not the mobo - F8
     
  9. simelwill

    simelwill

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    84
    its all to do with your mb just try each 1 and they are all for safe mode it has nothing to do with windows
     
  10. simelwill

    simelwill

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    84
    correct - but it has to do with the mobo as mine is f1 to enter safe mode and others are different also
     
  11. kniht

    kniht

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,760
    I got tired of tapping the F1 key at the right time to get into safe mode, (plus sometimes I couldn't remember which key to tap), so I added "Safe Mode" to my boot.ini. This involves editing the boot.ini, so if you don't feel comfortable editing the boot.ini, don't. If you do edit this file, make a backup copy of the original boot.ini in case something goes wrong.

    My original boot.ini reflected the following:

    [boot loader]
    timeout=5
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition" /fastdetect /NoExecute=OptIn

    My modified boot.ini now reflects the following:

    [boot loader]
    timeout=5
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition" /fastdetect /NoExecute=OptIn
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition safemode" /safeboot:minimal /sos /bootlog

    By adding the line:

    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition safemode" /safeboot:minimal /sos /bootlog

    to the original boot.ini, each time I boot up a boot screen appears allowing me to use the up and down arrow keys to either enter XP Home or Safe Mode. Makes life a little easier.

    No more tapping keys at the right time, or having to remember which key to tap!
     
  12. kniht

    kniht

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,760
    I got tired of tapping the F1 key at the right time to get into safe mode, (plus sometimes I couldn't remember which key to tap), so I added "Safe Mode" to my boot.ini. This involves editing the boot.ini, so if you don't feel comfortable editing the boot.ini, don't. If you do edit this file, make a backup copy of the original boot.ini in case something goes wrong. Editing can be done with Notepad, I use Metapad.

    My original boot.ini reflected the following:

    [boot loader]
    timeout=5
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition" /fastdetect /NoExecute=OptIn

    My modified boot.ini now reflects the following:

    [boot loader]
    timeout=5
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition" /fastdetect /NoExecute=OptIn
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition safemode" /safeboot:minimal /sos /bootlog

    By adding the line:

    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition safemode" /safeboot:minimal /sos /bootlog

    to the original boot.ini, each time I boot up a boot screen appears allowing me to use the up and down arrow keys to either enter XP Home or Safe Mode. Makes life a little easier.

    No more tapping keys at the right time, or having to remember which key to tap!
     
  13. kniht

    kniht

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,760
    Sorry, don't know how I got 2 posts here, tapping too many keys again I guess.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/475313